you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', agenda, alcohol, American, chemical dependency, crime, drugs, libertarianism, monumental-waste-of-time, personal responsibility, privacy, The Bill of No Rights

Situational Ethics

The Blogosphere has a story about a couple of filthy hippies caught with marijuana paraphernalia.  Except they are not filthy hippies.  They are ages 65 and 67, and have numerous ailments.

What a crock to waste the efforts and funds of law enforcement on such people.

I have an occasional beer.  I sometimes partake in a fine single-malt Scotch – thanks to the Internet Scotch Fairy™.  There are weeks I won’t have any alcohol at all.  I sometimes use alcohol medicinally, in addition to my pain meds, to alleviate pain.  Which brings me to my point.

I was raised with the idea that illegal drugs are, in fact, illegal.  I HAVE NEVER SMOKED OR EATEN MARIJUANA, nor do I have any desire to.

I have consumed alcohol for the pleasure and the numbing effects.

How is this different from those who take marijuana medicinally or for pleasure, whether legal or illegal?

I know folks who used it in high school and college, who stopped when they grew up,  and that was it.  I haven’t known anyone who gatewayed to cocaine or heroin.  Or crack.  Or meth.

My prejudice against marijuana is generational, not based in facts.

But, in spite of PROHIBITION (or perhaps because if it) we as a Nation begrudgingly accept alcohol as the Nation’s drug of choice.  And, at least in some conventional circles, are fighting to keep marijuana criminalized.

What’s up with that?

Is it thousands of special police units and federal agents would be sidelined, and the majority of non-violent offenders could be released from custody (and prison guards laid-off)?

I don’t want the car next to me at a traffic light to have a driver using marijuana, alcohol or mood-altering prescription drugs.  And I don’t want my neighbors to be meth, heroin, cocaine or alcohol addicts.  And I certainly don’t want any children using any of this stuff.

But we’ve already opened Pandora’s Box, and the so-called War On Drugs is a sham, and a waste.

Hell, a number of States have lowered the penalties for personal amounts, and a few have made it medically accessible.

Frankly, I don’t care if people have a real medical need, or just like to get high.  Just keep ’em away from me at intersections and we’re cool.

Let’s move toward legality, licensing and enforcing laws against unsafe drivers, instead.

And leave the old hippies at home alone.

It’s for the children.  (Liberty, Rights, The Constitution, and all that).

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Situational Ethics

  1. The sad part is that it would make it’s way even deeper into the workplace and I’m sure we will see a rise in highway (and other) deaths. When I was still active duty, my crew was almost killed by two guys that got high before coming in and working on our airplane. They had only put four screws into the leading edge of the wing, just enough to hold it on, when they started losing their ‘buzz’ and snuck out to get high again. They never came back and finished the job. Had it not been for a very through flight engineer, who caught it on preflight, I probably would not be here today.

    Posted by Old NFO | January 24, 2015, 9:10 am
    • I’m sorry for your experience, Jim, but, sadly, I think it already IS in the workplace. I worked for a silicon wafer fab outfit some years back, in a clean room, with hydroflouric and other acids, and many of my co-workers drank, did pills and smoked dope – some even on the job!
      I’m certain management knew about these infractions, but based on the company pay level was unable to keep a proper workforce substance free. And factored in the liabilities.
      Society drinks, and smokes, and does drugs. It’s sad.
      We need to raise our children better to stay away from such things, at least in excess and on-the-job.
      I’ve never done drugs, and don’t drink to excess.
      Guess I’m an exception.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | January 24, 2015, 11:15 am
  2. But but but – haven’t you seen “Reefer Madness”?

    This is one I sorta almost mull on sometimes. Except not much. My concern would be – are there good instant tests for determination of driving while impaired by it like there are for alcohol? What are the crime statistics in areas where drugs that were formally illegal were made legal? They still cost money – was the increase in legal availability followed by an increase in robbery, for instance? I seem to remember that at some point park soil in some European country had to be replaced after legalization of heroin because it was so contaminated by used needles. What are the current results in Colorado?

    I’m pro-medical use – every person’s body is different and if pot eases pain in ways other drugs don’t then it isn’t any different from those other drugs. I know one of the objections to smoking it is that the same compounds are available in pill form. But different people react differently to different ways of compounding drugs. I’m allergic to things like morphine and the oxy line of drugs. Hillbilly heroin is not for me. But if I’m suffering because I can’t take the normal course of drugs, as long as I don’t force anyone to breathe my smoke, which is particulate matter to be inhaled into the lungs the same as cigarettes smoke is, I don’t see how there’s a difference between a bolus of morphine and a joint.

    That said, do NOT eat that stuff. Nasty nasty ick spit! Waste of perfectly good chocolate brownies.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | January 24, 2015, 11:43 am
    • I don’t have an educated answer to your testing question. Bueller? Bueller? I used to know a cop who was allergic to THC who would break out in hives anywhere near the stuff. He was tested in court numerous times as to probable cause…
      Yeah, why ruin a good brownie.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | January 25, 2015, 7:44 am
  3. Haven’t seen much change here in Colorado since pot was legalized. People who use tell me the street price is less than the legal dispensaries. Abusers are just that, abusers, and not inclined to worry much about laws.

    Posted by WellSeasonedFool | January 24, 2015, 1:17 pm
    • Thanks for your comment answering PH with regard to Colorado. I do know a Medical MJ card holder, who tells me prices are ridiculous. One the one hand, they are getting medication certified by State authority as legitimate, and not treated with unwanted chemicals (like insecticide), but they are paying for it. A pre-rolled joint (ONE) is $18.00! Hardly the poor getting certified as medically needed (doctor visit cost + State card = $150-200), THEN buying the stuff.
      And I don’t know any insurance plan who covers the exam or the cost.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | January 25, 2015, 7:50 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

