you're reading...
agenda, annoyance, chemical dependancy, childhood, control, crime, drugs, history, legal stuff, monumental-waste-of-time, nanny, privacy, ridiculous, surveillance

Drug Stores

Remember when we called a spade a spade?  Not pharmacies?

I remember, as a grade-school kid, going into Skaggs Drug and buying CP potassium nitrate in 4 oz. bottles.  No one questioned me.  There were no forms to fill out.  No one asked if I was making rocket fuel or gunpowder from it.  (I was!)

And I still have all my eyes, hands and fingers!

Here it is some 50 years later, and my roommate not only acquired the crud I had (and am finally getting over, thank you!) but it progressed into some kind of respiratory infection.  Antibiotics and numerous pills later, she too is finally getting better.

And one of the medications prescribed was sudephedrine.  You know, the stuff that can be distilled into methamphetamine. 

And I had to present my driver’s license (which they swiped into the cash register computer system) and then sign for it.  For the 12 tablets!

Not only am I annoyed at this invasion of privacy, but for THIS amount?  When the Mexican cartels are buying it by the ton and making meth and exporting it here?

PITA.

The Travis McGee Reader recounts a similar story.  Go there and read it.

The shed a tear for our loss of more freedom, once again.

And, if you can, go launch a bottle rocket.bottle rockets

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Drug Stores

  1. Yeah, good luck with that, and don’t try to go get a refill!!!

    Posted by Old NFO | January 26, 2015, 4:41 pm
  2. For the 12 tablets

    Pseudoephedrine isn’t prescribed per se, it’s a recommendation…it is an “over the counter” drug.
    You should have just bought the 48 pill pack and had some for later. With everyone in the valley snottin’ & sneezin’, (esp. after the last rain has got the molds in high gear), she might need more.

    I live on Mucinex-D so I get the dumb ID shuffle every couple of weeks. You should see the looks on the pharm techs faces when I hand them my license issued in 1994. No scan code, no magnetic strip. They have to enter it manually.
    Just one more reason to hate tweekers!…as if anyone needed one.

    Posted by KM | January 26, 2015, 11:04 pm
    • Yeah, well…it wasn’t for me, it was for my trusty roommate. And, she definitely needed it.
      She takes Mucinex, too, and just completed a course of two antibiotics.
      I like the DL thing! Too bad I got to a ‘certain age’, and the State summoned me via mail to
      come in and get a new license.
      Not a fan of tweekers, or the State.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | January 27, 2015, 8:38 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

