you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', American, being human, childhood, choices, dysfunction, family, hysteria, life, love, lust, personal problem, politics, real world, religion, sports

Things About Which We Have Passion

superbowl_redditExactly!

Most of you know, my Father was sports addict, and as a result (because of my inability to play after the onset of my disability at age 12), I was a sports orphan.

And the culmination of all this for me is I don’t have a passion for most sports.  Watching, playing, appreciating.  Because I can’t play, and because I was saturated with it as a child.

(If YOU love your sports, enjoy!  It’s no problem for me.  But, like religion, please leave it outside my door!)

I oft wondered about the American fetish for the love of team sports – especially baseball, football and basketball.  It’s been explained to me that it has to do with civic pride.  And, of course, friendly bets around the water cooler.

Or the bookie.

Marx says religion is the opiate of the masses.  In this country, the opiate is also sports!  I guess it stops folks from discussing religion and politics(?)

MY passion is the ability to live free.  To make my own choices.  To not be compelled to give to others through the power and force of government.  If I choose to do so, that’s one thing.  At the point of a gun, that’s another.

And, of course, my passion for the love a good woman.

Currently absent.  😦

But that’s for another post…

h/t FB

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Things About Which We Have Passion

  1. Two quotes come to mind: “That government governs best which governs least.” (Jefferson), and “The best government is the one that charges you the least blackmail for leaving you alone.” (recently quoted on my blog, but I’m too lazy this morning to look up the professor’s name).

    Posted by Rev. Paul | February 4, 2015, 9:29 am
  2. With being smacked down by Life at age 12, you didn’t get a chance to feel the warm fuzzies that blind siding a quarterback into the ground gives you. That “OOOF!” when you drive the air out of a body at speeds that would make a sneeze jealous is like a Celestial Choir to a defensive lineman. 🙂

    Yes, it is just ‘bread and circuses’ when folks don’t do research into larger issues that affect things like their taxes, laws against freedom or someone robbing the public General Fund blind.

    Posted by KM | February 4, 2015, 9:41 am
    • I did get to play some sports before age 12, including some contact sports. Even had my left thumb (I’m left handed) dislocated in the 3rd grade!
      And (in spite of my disability issues) I did some running, weight lifting and kenpo karate.

      I think they don’t do research, because they’d rather be watching (fill in blank with sport here) then to concern themselves with the Nation’s troubles.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | February 4, 2015, 5:09 pm
  3. Ironically, I find the most rabid fans usually never actually (insert college name here or city) attended or lived there… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | February 4, 2015, 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

