you're reading...
analysis, basic, Col. Cooper, common sense, crime, equipment, gun culture, history, mouse guns, personal responsibility, self-defense, shooting

Use Enough Gun

The firearm blogosphere is replete with tales about armed folks taking down charging water buffalo from 100 yards, and failed suicides using .25s to the temple, which subsequently fell out of their largely undamaged head.

PawPaw’s House tells us yet another story whose lesson is USE ENOUGH GUN.

You should visit the link and read.

There’s a rule with regard to gunfighting – ‘have a gun’.  Certainly, if a knife-wielding bad guy is advancing on me, or if there’s a crew of street thugs, it’s comforting to know I have something with which I can defend myself.

God made Man; Colonel Colt made them equal.

That is certainly true.

But, there is (or rather should be) an addendum to the have a gun rule.

And that should be have ENOUGH gun.

This goes back to carrying a talisman, or one of those decoy guns companies are selling now to wear as a deterrent!

There is a rumor that some of the neo-Gunsite folk have backed off of the .45 ACP/1911 meme of Jeff Cooper, since his passing, in favor of calibers such as 9mm – because it is ‘easier’ to shoot!

Have enough gun.  Or at least a real gun, in a real caliber.

Street criminals might just call your bluff.  And then you are stuck with an antique in VeloDog, or a worthless look-a-like.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Use Enough Gun

  1. 1911 or Colt Python. Either or… Just sayin!

    Posted by Old NFO | February 9, 2015, 11:00 am
  2. I’ll take the other side here. Believe it or not, bullet technology has advanced since Col. Cooper opened Gunsite. The tests I’ve been looking at in American Rifleman state that the current defensive ammunition now available makes a 9mm equivalent to a FMJ .45 round in terms of damage done.

    The FBI is dumping their .40’s and going back to the 9mm, you can be sure that they spent some skull sweat and did a bunch of tests before they took that step. I would also note that the most important factor in firearm use is bullet placement. My wife simply could not use a heavy pistol, a 9mm single stack semi-automatic was the largest handgun she was accurate with.

    What do I have? A .44 magnum revolver. I’m a large guy, and I’m comfortable with it. I haven’t had any luck with getting my son to try it, let alone my daughters. With them, I’ll go with the wisdom that a small caliber pistol that will be carried and used is better than the large caliber pistol sitting in the gun safe.

    Posted by tweell | February 10, 2015, 7:53 am
    • Yes, bullet technology has advanced. But, physics remain physics. And, if Julian Hatcher is to be believed, frontal area, mass and velocity are considerations in stopping power.
      And Jim Cirillo said, “Stopping power begins at 12 gauge.”
      Having said that:
      “With them, I’ll go with the wisdom that a small caliber pistol that will be carried and used is better than the large caliber pistol sitting in the gun safe.”
      AMEN!

      Posted by guffaw1952 | February 10, 2015, 8:24 am
  3. Last month I stripped down 3 different Glocks to take out my aftermarket parts, clean/lube and change out parts to return them to factory stock for my first ever GSSF shoot. 🙂
    *All 3* took less than an hour (using one pin pusher) and even my little subcompact holds more ammo than my 1911s. Guess what I carry on a daily basis. Yes, I traded steel weight for ammo in a package that is nearly indestructable and doesn’t need a gunsmith to fit parts into. I’m also going to go back to 9s for carry.

    Just yesterday I stripped my Colt Gold Cup down to bare frame/slide, clean & lube and reassemble. My wife was in the other room and I showed her most of the little parts because I couldn’t fit them all on one outstretched hand. It took a while because it’s been 30 years since I detail stripped a 1911.
    Now I remember why – – what a Royal PITA!!

    John Moses was a genius, of that there is no doubt. But that Gaston was pretty sharp too…G.G. had the benefit of modern materials and construction methods. I can’t even imagine what JMB would come up with using the CAD design and materials of today but I bet it wouldn’t have 50+ parts! (5 just to put one side of a grip on)

    Posted by KM | February 10, 2015, 11:55 am
    • There is something to be said for modular design and space-age components.
      Having said that…
      Remembering JMB did HIS design with his concurrent technology, over 100 years ago, and the industrial meme at the time
      was based on Victorian modality – interaction of tiny parts, like a pocket watch.
      One of the last four Glocks I owned was a Model 30 (.45 ACP)
      Taking nothing away from GG. He built on JMB’s design and did very well.
      It’s a tough call for me. Glock is a fine, modern machine, but a 1911 is history proven.
      And plastic has no soul.
      I carried both until the vault was stolen, and all I have left are my two original carry guns –
      a electroless nickel S&W .38 snub, and a 1911 5″ race gun (c. 1978).
      So my choice has been made for me.
      😦

      Posted by guffaw1952 | February 10, 2015, 7:00 pm
      • I don’t know how much Glock borrowed from JMB. Things I can think of off the top of my pointed head is the magazine is in the grip and the breech block. (which is HUGE in pistol design)
        The staggered mag is Saive design.

        And plastic has no soul.
        Plastic doesn’t need a soul. It just works and works.
        Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my Gold Cup. It has won me a free Glock in competition!!
        (I then used that ‘free’ gun to win another Glock)
        But the gun on my nightstand doesn’t hold 7 or 8 rounds, it ain’t made of all steel and has a WML on the rail.
        The plastic wondernines have been making their own history for over 30 yrs now and seem to be holding their own pretty well.
        Just think how well they would have done if they had the same grip angle as a 1911. 😉

        Posted by KM | February 10, 2015, 10:37 pm
      • My understanding is the whole straight slide/frame design is JMB. Prior to that was multiple parts and toggle tops, like Georg Luger.
        Yeah, the grip angle being the same would be nice.
        But, different strokes and all that!
        Go… Shoot… Enjoy! 😆

        Posted by guffaw1952 | February 10, 2015, 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

