you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', agenda, annoyance, bureaucratiZILLA, comfort, customer service, disability, doom, Fear, filthy lucre, pain, personal problem, physical health, TMCCC, whining

Just When I Thought It Was Safe, Part Cinco

(If you abhor whining, read no further)

vulturesIt’s my fault, actually.  I had the audacity to turn 62.  And, with that milestone came the vultures.

First, my former employer TMCCC contacted me regarding applying for early retirement.  I’m currently medically retired due to my contracting lymphoma in 2008.  I left active employment in 2009, after six months of chemo.

Obviously, the sooner they can nudge me out, the less pension they will have to pay.  And current calculations are not very promising, regardless of my retiring now or @ 65.

So, it wasn’t a complete surprise when my private medical insurance carrier (thank GOD I paid the premiums when I was working!) contacted me to update their information.

This means contacting my physician with regard to my current condition and ability to work. 

In spite of the fact I was awarded SSDI and private disability due to having cancer, I have many other conditions which make returning to the workforce problematic.  Even though I AM currently in remission! (knock-on-wood!)

Working while diabetic is no biggee,  working with the neuropathy (chronic nerve pain) that comes with it – not so much.  And the arthritis.  There was a time I could stand and sit for long hours.  No longer.  Now, sitting more than an hour or two is painful.  Forget standing and walking much.

Oh, I can (and do) take various prescription pain medications.  Which make me dopey and put me to sleep.  And still only lessen the pain.  They do not take it away.

And my fear is the private insurance company will say, well, you have been in remission over 5 years…SAYONARA!

And the private addition to my SSDI payment isn’t much, but it is 21% of my disability pay.   And the total is still poverty level.

I rent a room in a friend’s home, and drive a clunky 2000 Oldsmobile.  I lost my home of 18 years, 2 1/2 years ago.  I’m not milking the system here.

And now I get to jump through more hoops in hope of keeping that 21%.

Sigh.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Just When I Thought It Was Safe, Part Cinco

  1. Never rains but it pours. I pray things work in your favor; hang in there.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | February 15, 2015, 10:23 am
  2. THoughts and prayers gfa, and welcome to obummercare… They ARE out to get us old folks!

    Posted by Old NFO | February 15, 2015, 3:11 pm
    • Thanks, Jim.
      Seriously, I don’t think this has anything to do with the ACA. The insurance co. has been after me every four to six months since I started getting paid, just because they are in business to collect money, not give it away.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | February 15, 2015, 6:14 pm
  3. I so understand your fears and visited this a bit with my brother. He lost his job due to sequestration, and then when he got called back – the cancer came up and they just laid him off. No insurance, too young for Tri Careand he couldn’t get in to see the VA, couldn’t sign up for Obamacare as his states exchanges were so screwed up. Ending up losing his house and declining further treatment so not to leave his kids a ton of bills because of no insurance. And he died MUCH sooner than need be. So yes, the system is screwed and I hate when wonderful pilot like you pay for it. – Brigid

    Posted by LB Johnson | February 15, 2015, 6:16 pm
    • Well, it hasn’t happened yet! I did fight them before and won and continued to get benefits.
      It’s horrible about your brother. I’m so sorry.
      (I wish I were a pilot, but sadly, have never had a license.)
      I DO appreciate your sympathy.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | February 15, 2015, 6:28 pm
  4. Your problem is that you didn’t sneak over the border from Mexico.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | February 15, 2015, 7:26 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

