you're reading...
analysis, celebrate, choices, common sense, death, doctors, duty, family, friends, friends-in-need, gimps, good wishes, gratitude, grief, growth, gun shops, honor, life, loss, neuroses, pain, parenting, personal problem, personal responsibility, PI biz, whining, whining less

Life Is Loss, Part Two – A Lesson Learned

I posted a few days ago regarding losses – specifically the loss of my daughter, and a good friend’s loss of most of his lower left leg and foot.

Hardly an upbeat read.

However, Life is not just loss.  Life also gives us lessons!

Since I heard from my good friend Bob regarding his diabetic amputation surgery, I’ve tried to contact him.  We exchanged texts initially a couple of times, and he advise me he would call.

Nothing.

I feared the worst.

So, I took it upon myself to call him.  Not to incessantly badger him (thinking he was busy enough) but once a week, just to check-in on him and his condition.  And attitude.

And I ended up leaving messages.  And this concerned me.

Bob returned yesterday’s message last night.  I needn’t have been concerned.

Bob – (my former PI and gun store boss) was in great spirits!  YES, he did lose his left foot and about 12″ of lower leg.  And yes, he has a long, painful recovery and rehab ahead.

But he was not only doing physically well – he was doing well emotionally and spiritually, too!

Now, Bob would be the first to tell you he is not a religious guy.  And not the most spiritual.  But he almost lost his life to sepsis, and took his survival to mean he is supposed to remain here a while longer.

And not wallow in his losses.

He is fortunate to have the great support of his wife and two daughters.  And his brother.  And he reminded of previous losses and near-death experiences he has suffered.

AND HE SEES THIS AS YET ANOTHER CHANCE TO REDEEM HIMSELF!

Or, in the words of his parents (both deceased), “Put on your big boy panties and get on with it!”

And his is and has.

And, he reminded me (indirectly) that I have similar lessons.  I, too, have had losses, and near-death experiences.  And I have wallowed.  Or more specifically whined.

I might lose some benefits.  So what?  Big boy panties are available for the wearing.

Bob has set an example for me to try and emulate.

Starting now.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Life Is Loss, Part Two – A Lesson Learned

  1. Well said, my friend. Well said!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | February 17, 2015, 8:58 am
  2. When life gives you lemons… Make lemonade… Thoughts and prayers sir. We all need help at times to keep our spirits heading up instead of down.

    Posted by Old NFO | February 17, 2015, 2:37 pm
  3. I’m glad Bob is OK. He’ll be in my thoughts. Diabetes runs in my family. Big Bro had it. I’m the opposite end. VERY hypoglycemic but not diagnosed until I quit flying, side effect of aging probably.

    Posted by LB Johnson | February 20, 2015, 7:38 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

