you're reading...
agenda, analysis, bloggers, CCW, childhood, choices, common sense, crime, emergency, gun culture, Molly, personal responsibility, training, yutes

‘Carrying’ In The Company of Children

I’ve posted before about sharing ‘the facts of life’ with my daughter.  Not reproduction (although we did speak of such things) but letting her know I was discretely armed in her presence, and providing a few basic signals for her to keep safe.

Should terrible things happen.

Hand signals and verbal commands.  To be acted upon without question.

I.E. We’re in a shopping mall, and I observe bad guys attempting to shoot other bad guys.  The signals mean find cover immediately, and failing that, hit the deck!  Things are getting serious very soon.

This doesn’t necessarily mean I’ve plans on engaging multiple gang members.

Molly didn’t know much about my immersion in the gun culture, except not to touch any firearms without permission, and sometimes Dad went shooting, until she was six.  Then I shared the ‘facts of life’ (that I carried whenever possible for all our protection, and it was no one else’s business) and devised the signals.

It never occurred to me to consider my tactics when she was younger.  A preschooler, a toddler, a baby.

And I think of that mother who was shot to death in the Walmart by her two-year-old!

LIMATUNES opened my eyes!

IF you are an armed mother (or father) involved in the protection of your charges, you should go and read her.  She has THREE children of a young age, and considers things I never have.

Armed, with children, of any age is wholly different from just being armed.

Believe it.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “‘Carrying’ In The Company of Children

  1. Just got through a weekend of having a 5 yr old visit. Sweet kid but It was like watching and listening to a small human SuperBall bounce around the house. (reason #217 I didn’t have kids)
    The first line ‘within reach’ guns all got locked up and the little 380 went into my pocket.
    Now its time for another nap…whew!

    Posted by KM | February 23, 2015, 1:12 pm
  2. Yep, good points all, and I’m sending the link to my daughter!

    Posted by Old NFO | February 23, 2015, 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

