you're reading...
basic, choices, concealment, equipment, Glocks, gun culture, lost culture, minimalist, personal responsibility, pistol v. revolver, self-defense

The Perfect Carry Gun?!

Glock-26-920x611Pro2AGuy sent us a photo of what he considers to be the perfect CCW … I took me a bit of time to find that “perfect” CCW, but I settled on the Glock 26. Fierce competition out there in this category to be sure as it seems like vendors can’t keep [Read More…]

So says Steve Johnson of The Firearm Blog

What do you guys think?

Personally, I think this is very much an individual’s choice – akin to choice of toothbrush or underwear.

As far as I’m concerned…

IN THEORY, I’m all for a 5″ 1911, in .45 ACP.  Being a Cooper aficionado, and all…

IN PRACTICE, with AZ weather restricting appropriate concealment clothing, I opt more-often-then-not for the equally-ubiquitous (at least amongst old-school fogeys such as me!) S&W 442 (electroless nickel) in .38 Special.

Front pocket holster, easy-peasy (?)

WHAT DO YOU GUYS THINK?

I like Glocks – I’ve owned 3, a Model 26 (as above), a Model 17, and a Model 30.  I even carried them, on occasion.
But, they are plastic, and have no soul!  🙂
About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

18 thoughts on “The Perfect Carry Gun?!

  1. I still carry my Charter Arms Bulldog I bought 17 years ago.I shoot it more than any other firearm I own.
    44 Spl. loaded with a Keith-style 240gr SWC does anything asked.

    Posted by bobb topp | March 10, 2015, 9:33 am
    • OUCH! I mean, good for you!
      Had a friend who cut his Bulldog’s barrel to 2″ and bobbed the hammer – carried it in
      an ankle holster for years!
      Was a bear to shoot. Accurate, but painful!

      Posted by guffaw1952 | March 10, 2015, 9:57 am
      • A .44 in an ankle holster is something I’m just going to have to try and imagine. I’m not going to try to wear one that way.

        Posted by Joel | March 10, 2015, 3:42 pm
      • The guy I knew who did that was 6’2″ and over 300 pounds!
        I knew another guy who carried a Colt Commander in an ankle rig! But he was 6’5″!;-)

        Posted by guffaw1952 | March 11, 2015, 9:13 am
  2. Currently carry a G27. The Glock I won at GSSF is going to be a G26. Same holsters, a couple more boolits and easier to shoot fast.
    I used to carry a 1911, then went to IWB and switched to S&W 649. Tried a Sig P225 then got the G27. I thought about a 9mm conversion barrel for the 27 but would rather just have a new pistol.
    There’s a Ruger LCP for the pocket if the need arises to not have a gun in the waistband.
    I don’t need a gun to have a soul. (I can always go snuggle with my Gold Cup) 😉 It just has to work everytime.

    Carrying in Phx means things that some others don’t have to think about. 8 months of the year it’s HOT!!
    You’re not going to be able to put on vest, windbreaker or light jacket and survive the heat stroke.

    Posted by KM | March 10, 2015, 10:45 am
  3. I get the “no soul” argument, but a carry gun is a tool. My Stanley hammer and my Stihl chainsaw have no soul, either. They just do the job I ask them to do, with no drama.
    If you use a gun in self-defense, it’s going to sit in an evidence locker for a long time before you get it back. When it comes back, someone’s initials and/or badge number will be scratched into it someplace, and it may be rusted or pitted from being handled in an non-climate-controlled evidence cage, or cruddy from being shot for ballistic comparisons and never cleaned.
    Do you want that to happen to your beloved 1911, or to a soulless plastic tool that works just as well?

    Posted by Old 1811 | March 10, 2015, 11:33 am
  4. Since 2000 my choice has been the lowly Bersa Thunder .380. Inexpensive, relatively compact and light, accurate and so far has always been reliable. I will admit I don’t run it like a race gun or attend 600round training classes with it either. It gets it’s carry load of magazines run through it once a quarter and then cleaned, lubed and reloaded.

    When feeling the need for something different, it is a S&W 65, 3″ in .357. Works every time, easy to conceal IWB or with a good belt, pancake holseter and hawaiian shirt.

    Posted by Matt | March 10, 2015, 2:30 pm
  5. Depends, depends, depends. I’m not a big guy and have no trouble concealing a 1911, they’re nice and flat, but it depends on what the meaning of “conceal” is. 🙂 In Arizona, “concealed” means a light shirt. In California it means something much more rigorous. So I end up with a big gun for when I don’t give a damn if it prints a bit, and an itsy one for when I do. There ain’t no perfect. 😦

    Posted by Joel | March 10, 2015, 3:38 pm
  6. Yeaaaahhhhhhh, Glocks. Not pretty, do not make me drool or my palms to sweat with desire. But they shoot fine, you can beat the heck out of them, and they are easy to strip/clean/ reassemble.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | March 10, 2015, 3:58 pm
  7. G26 or P-9 Kahr. BUG is a Colt Agent or Mustang 2… If I don’t care, Colt Commander. All on OWB paddles.

    Posted by Old NFO | March 10, 2015, 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

