you're reading...
agenda, bigotry, concerns, control, customer service, dangerous, dysfunction, education, evidence, evil, excuses, fairness, nudging, political correctness, propaganda, race baiting

Teacher Admits He Wrote Common Core To End White Privilege

Who knew?

A professor at Granite State College and chair of the history department at the Derryfield School in Manchester, New Hampshire admitted to writing the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts in order to end white privilege.  According to the response heard on the video, Dr. David Pook shocked the audience at an event at New Hampshire Institute of Politics when he made the following statement:

The reason why I helped write the standards and the reason why I am here today is that as a white male in society I am given a lot of privilege that I didn’t earn[.]

More at the link.

What is is about self-loathing, whether personally (low self esteem) or culturally (Americans who hate America, Jews who hate Jews, White folks who hate White folks or Black folks who hate Black folks)?

Perhaps I would feel differently, had I been born a poor Black child, instead of a lower-middle-class White.  I’m more likely to give a random Black stranger I see on the street the benefit of a doubt than myself – low self esteem, and all.

I  give girls and women preference, because that is how I was raised.  Sometime to my own determent.

But I don’t believe in cultural affirmative action to level the playing field!  I worked hard to get to my (marginal) station in life, and expect the same of others.

Regardless of their race or gender.

And I certainly don’t want government nudging society to some further self-loathing standard for the good of all (some).

h/t Theo Spark

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Teacher Admits He Wrote Common Core To End White Privilege

  1. What the hell? I really don’t get how these people think…

    Posted by Old NFO | March 15, 2015, 1:22 pm
  2. I had so much white privilege that my dad’s maximum salary was $16,000 a year (and that for only a couple years), my mom added a civil service salary and kept us afloat and they were in debt until the day they died. Not for fancy stuff, but just for a roof over their heads and a basic ride. And they had moved way up on the scale from their origins. I have 1 other first cousin that completed college. I personally remember chamber pots under the bed and all heating and cooking done on coal stoves. Not to mention that the beds upstairs were moved downstairs next to said coal stoves once the contents in the chamber pots under them started freezing in the winter.

    In some ways that WAS a privilege. Because I’m pretty clear on the good stuff in my life now.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | March 16, 2015, 4:36 pm
    • Yep! My environment was more citifed than yours, but we certainly weren’t rich. We lived on a block with school teachers and college teachers, and were probably the least-paid on the block.
      And I was a latch key kid.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | March 17, 2015, 7:52 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

