you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', addiction, blog, blogging, communication, customer service, decline, expectations, Internet, monumental-waste-of-time

Whack-A-Mole!

SO…

I awaken fairly early this morning, shower, dress, morning rituals…

And begin my day – with the Internet.

Specifically, my email accounts, news, almanac, and the Guffaw in AZ blog.

Or so I thought I would…

I’ve been having browser trouble, yet again.  And today it was scary!

20150326_090022

WARNING! Will Robinson.

I received warnings like this one using Google Chrome and Opera browsers.  I recently had switched back to Chrome, as Firefox had been giving me some different trouble!  After ‘the troubles’ this morning, I ran both Windows Defender and Malwarebytes (the pay-for version).  WD said there were NO problems, MWB recorded 22, which were then removed.

And Chrome and Opera still ran with ‘issues’.  So I used Comodo Dragon and even reverted to Firefox to get my email and blogging chores done.

Word on the ‘Net is Firefox is going away (so, by extension, will her cousins Comodo Dragon and Comodo Ice Dragon!)  Because Mozilla is lacking in support.  And Internet Explorer is pretty much a ghost, now.  I won’t even mention Netscape, AWOL since she was acquired by AOL.

So, the question remains:  Is there a secure, modern browser with which one may check email, blog and even surf the ‘Net?

Or is accessing the Internet forever to remain a game of whack-a-mole, with regard to bugs, viruses and glitches?

This inquiring mind wants to know

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Whack-A-Mole!

  1. I don’t think there is such a thing as a secure browser. Every time someone develops one, some 14 year old genius hacks it. I just run virus and maleware programs and so far chrome hasn’t been a problem.

    Posted by robertsgunshop | April 6, 2015, 8:16 am
  2. Is the browser not secure or is it the modem itself?
    I live in a single family home and can pick up no less that 6 wifi connections from my living room. 2 of those aren’t PW protected…but I wouldn’t hook up to one of those on a bet!

    Posted by KM | April 6, 2015, 9:46 am
  3. I understand that Windows 10 will feature a “new” browser, not called Explorer any longer. No word on whether it’s actually any better … and I’m not holding my breath.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 6, 2015, 12:09 pm
  4. Not that I’m aware of… Unless you have a VPN direct to a secure server, you’re pretty much screwed…

    Posted by Old NFO | April 6, 2015, 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

