you're reading...
annoyance, basic, equipment, gimps, life, mail-order, personal responsibility, plastic, whining less

Mr. Thingy

FarSide_MrThingy1I’ve never liked referring to myself as disabled.  Or the politically-correct differently-abled.  Even now that the State and my private insurance have labelled me as such.  I’m just uncomfortable so doing.

I haven’t even bothered to get one of those disabled license plates or mirror hangers.  Other people need them more than I.  🙂

I’m just me.

But, there are some things difficult and nearly impossible for me to do without some kind of assistance.

One of my ‘problems’ having a fused right hip (and imperfect right knee) is putting on socks.  I have been known to perform a kind of modified hurdlers stretch, bending my leg back and reaching behind me with a sock one-handed.

not me, not even close!

not me, not even close!

Believe me when I say doing this isn’t quick, easy or comfortable.

Or pretty.

Enter The Sock Thingy 2.0.  This is the name I’ve given it.

sock aidHere is a simple device which kind-of extends my reach with an open sock!  (Hey! It doesn’t dress me, but it makes things a little easier.)

One curls the black part into a sock, which holds it open, then dangles it to insert the foot in the opening, and pull up on the straps – viola’!

My only complaint is Sock Thingy 1.0 was made of thin plastic and terrycloth, and eventually broke.  It was quite comfortable, but replaced with the 2.0.  The 2.0 model is hard plastic.  Much more durable, but less comfortable, too.

At least it helps!

(It occurred to me while dressing this morning that some others of you might have a need for such an aid(?)

FTC – neither Amazon or Duro-Med have given me anything.  Put on your own socks!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Mr. Thingy

  1. Mr. Thingy is a right clever invention; I’m glad you have access to such a thing.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 10, 2015, 9:24 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Taking Care of Business | Guffaw in AZ - March 26, 2016

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

