you're reading...
alcohol, beer, bloggers, celebrate, college, friends, good wishes, memories

Beer

From my friend Borepatch:

We live in the best of all possible worlds

Stay thirsty, my friends:

I will leave you with one note of optimism, from Mark Perry.  I went to college in the nadir (1980) of the American beer industry, where a small oligopoly of mediocre beer producers was protected by government legislation.  It was a classic example of how regulation drives monopoly, consolidation, and loss of choice.  With deregulation, the American beer industry has exploded.
beer1

I don’t drink beer as often as I’d like.  1)  It costs money, and 2)  being diabetic with weight ‘issues’, beer is probably not the best choice for a beverage.  For me.

This doesn’t mean I don’t like it!

Thankfully, when I do imbibe, I don’t repeat my college years, wherein if I wasn’t scheduled to work or be in class, I had a can in my hand.  As did many of us.

A friend would stop by.  “Hey, wanna beer?”

These days it’s more diet soda, or coffee.  Or even water.  And it’s in a glass bottle or draught!  Canned is for the uncouth – or poor college students!  Glass just tastes better.

Borepatch, on multiple occasions, has stated he would like to buy me a beer.

I hope one day we can do that, BP!

And I can buy one for you.

(A belated mention – National Beer Day was April 7.  The anniversary of the end of Prohibition.  I did imbibe that day.  In honor of the end of government oppression and control.  Perhaps one day there will be a National Freedom Day?)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Beer

  1. National Beer Day was April 7

    I didn’t know that!
    Not that it really mattered. Luckily my beer drinking streak, (Cal Ripken would be jealous) is still intact.

    Posted by KM | April 10, 2015, 2:28 pm
  2. Awesome! Well put my friend.

    Posted by keads | April 10, 2015, 7:00 pm
  3. Yep, good points, and good reasons to ‘limit’ one’s intake…

    Posted by Old NFO | April 10, 2015, 9:24 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

