you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', 'science', analysis, cameras, cancer, concerns, disease, doctors, drugs, Fear, health, technology

Once More, Unto The Breach, Dear Friends…

(I’m hardly Henry the Fifth!)

But, people oft quote (or misquote) this Shakespeare line, when embarking on some ‘adventure’.

This morning, I’m going to an outpatient clinic for an EGD.  In lay terms, they are scoping my upper GI tract to see what’s what.

Some years back, after the accident, this was done.  Erosion of the lower esophagus was found (acid reflux), and were some pre-cancerous cells.  I’ve been on meds ever since, but my latest doc noticed I’d not been examined regarding progress/regression of these diseases.  The last time someone looked, things had improved, but she’s thorough.

Apparently, no re-check for cancer cells was done.

Sigh.

SO, they will put me out with propophol (the Michael Jackson sleep aid) and see what is to be seen.  And possibly take some tissue samples while they’re there.

Ain’t modern medicine wonderful?

Fortunately, this is scheduled in the morning, my being diabetic and all.  (No food or drink for hours before!)

Being a veteran of both skin and blood cancer, this does concern me.

Wish me luck!  Tell mother I died game – or whatever people say now…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Once More, Unto The Breach, Dear Friends…

  1. Hope it went well (ought to be over by now)!

    Propophol is wonderful stuff. I’d hate to be awake for that sort of thing.

    Posted by sigraybeard | April 18, 2015, 2:29 pm
  2. Good on the doc.
    Stomach cancer is one that by the time it’s symptomatic and diagnosed, you’re screwed. Catching it early with a screening is the only way to really be safe.
    Hope all went well and the results are in the green zone!

    Posted by KM | April 18, 2015, 4:13 pm
  3. Glad you got checked, and hoping it’s all good… Or at least stable.

    Posted by Old NFO | April 18, 2015, 4:38 pm
  4. Hope all comes up good. I had one done at the same time as a colonoscopy. Don’t know what the anesthetic was but the whole flip the switch and you’re out was pretty cool.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | April 18, 2015, 6:13 pm
  5. Sorry I’m late to the party; I hope is well.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 19, 2015, 5:19 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

