you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', 'science', analysis, cameras, concerns, disease, doctors, drugs, Fear, health, technology

Dear Friends, Part Two

Well, I made it through the ‘procedure’ okay.

Thanks for all your emails and support!  (Especially J. who stayed with me and drove me to-and-fro!)

The good news is I survived, and live to fight on another day.  The bad news is I have Barrett’s esophagus.  (I’m betting Barrett didn’t even know it was missing!) *rimshot*

This means chronic acid reflux has eaten away at the lower third of my esophagus.  I was largely unaware this was occurring as I’ve been taking medication for it for many years.  I guess it would be much worse had I not.

There is a chance of the presence of pre-cancerous cells.  Biopsies were performed – we are awaiting the results.

I am to continue taking my prescribed medication.  And take some other measures to lessen further damage.  And, barring any complications, return in a year to do it again!

OH BOY!

I’ve a series of lovely parting-gift photos.  Below is one of them.

20150419_071641This is what I get for eating and drinking foods I like and having the nerve to recline afterward!  Let this be a lesson to me.

Sadly, probably not…

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Dear Friends, Part Two

  1. Damn, what are you supposed to do? Starve???

    Posted by Old NFO | April 19, 2015, 9:04 am
  2. I fought with acid reflux for years. Had a quadruple bypass and was diagnosed with diabetes. I eat very little carbohydrates and no grains. I lost about 40 pounds and have had maybe 3 tums in 5 years. My breakfast was an onion, bacon, and cheese omelet, a romaine heart, a banana, and 2 squares of 90%-cocoa chocolate. Good luck!

    Posted by Pete | April 19, 2015, 3:42 pm
  3. MY grandma had esophageal cancer. She beat it at age 75 or older. Prayers to you.
    http://Www.westonaprice.org go organic

    Posted by R. Alt | April 19, 2015, 4:01 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

