you're reading...
'only ones', agenda, anger, basic, business, car, customer service, Dave, filthy lucre, legal stuff, maintenance, sad, thrift

I Drive A GM Car

Not by choice.

My beloved ’89 Isuzu Trooper (Molly’s Trolley) gave up the ghost in 2002.  I traded in her carcass for the only ‘decent’ car I could then qualify for.  A 2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue.

Which I still own and sometimes drive.  In 2015.

Because my being on disability means I just squeak by, and cannot afford car payments.  My last significant repair cost over $700, which I borrowed from my roommate and paid back @ $100/month.  Plus my rent.  Ouch.

I’ve oft had fantasies of getting some extra funds.  Paying off long-overdue bills and maybe getting a slightly newer car.

And, considering the questionably available maintenance and longevity of the Olds, she still runs.  Sometimes.

So, why not a GM car?

Here’s why (from Say Uncle):

First, I (and you) foot the bill for their mismanagement and union kowtowing. Now, this:

Automakers are supporting provisions in copyright law that could prohibit home mechanics and car enthusiasts from repairing and modifying their own vehicles.

In comments filed with a federal agency that will determine whether tinkering with a car constitutes a copyright violation, OEMs and their main lobbying organization say cars have become too complex and dangerous for consumers and third parties to handle.

Good thing Dave-the-genius-mechanic is moving out-of-state!  Wouldn’t want him to get in trouble for tinkering with my car.  After all, he just repairs Airbus A320s for U.S. Air American Airlines!

Guess I will now always need a G(overnment) Motors –  approved shop!

And the sad part (aside from Dave leaving the State!:-( ) is of all the beater cars I’ve owned, THIS is the one who lasted the longest!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I Drive A GM Car

  1. Taking care of vehicles DOES make them last. We’re of the generation that didn’t throw things away everytime a new ‘thing’ came out. And cars DO fit into that category… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | April 23, 2015, 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

