you're reading...
addiction, annoyance, answers, basic, common sense, education, filthy lucre, friends-in-need, geekery, guns, Internet, personal problem, price, private, sticker shock

I Had No Idea…

such persons existed!

A friend of a friend recently contacted my friend regarding retail values of some of the firearms he owned.  It seems he was a little short and wanted to make some quick cash.

This friend was referred to ME, as I’ve been around firearms most of my life, have owned and shot them.  And even sold then retail, and privately.  It was thought I might have some idea.

(Now comes the weird part)

This gentleman is a professional, well-educated in his field.  Not some idiot.

But, not only did he have no idea how to search the Internet for possible values on many of the firearms he wanted to sell he had no idea what models he owned!

“Yeah, it’s a Smith & Wesson revolver, but as to caliber, model, finish, frame size, I’ve no idea!”

This made making an estimate difficult over the telephone.  It was the same way for the Colts, the AR-15, and a number of others.

I just thought most gun owners would be into their firearms enough to have some clue as to specifics(?)  Obviously not.

I guess it’s like car guys.  I know I have an Olds 6-cylinder.  But cubic inches, etc., I’ve no idea.  And some guys like Scotch – but don’t know single malt from chocolate malt!

I can look it up on the Internet, however!

(And, yes, he did sell them!  Don’t ask.  If only I’d had some money…)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I Had No Idea…

  1. People are strange… sigh…

    Posted by Old NFO | May 9, 2015, 5:48 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

