you're reading...
'science', agenda, AGW, annoyance, Arizona, auto registration, celebrate, customer service, dumb luck, filthy lucre, friends, legal stuff, monumental-waste-of-time, surveillance

The Universe Plays A Joke On Government

Most of you regular readers know I HATE giving the government money.  Doing so burns my libertarian soul.

I’m still driving Ol'(insert old-timey lady name here), my 2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue.  Basically, because I’ve no other choice.  And, it’s registration involuntary ownership tax time again.

With the precursor of emissions testing.

(I always stop here to remember how the State legislator who forced through the emissions testing requirement soon left the legislature to work for the contractor who obtained the initial contract.  No dirty politics here, no sir!  :-))

ANYWAY…

I arrive just after the testing station opens and find I’m second in line.  I’m a little worried, as my car sometimes stalls at idle, and sometimes the pollution control gimmick sticks in the engine and dashboard warning lights illuminate.  Getting tested with dash lights on is a no-no!  They’ve not come on in a few weeks, so I feel they are due.

I pull up when ordered, exit the vehicle, the guy does his testing, and she PASSES!

HUZZAH!

I re-enter the vehicle and crank her to start and leave, as instructed…

AND THERE IS A BACKFIRE!  THE TESTING STATION (AND MY CAR INTERIOR) FILLS WITH SMOKE!  But, as the car is running (and there is no obvious fire or dash warning lights), I drive away victorious!

And return home (after depositing appropriate gift funds to cover costs) and pay on-line to obtain my State license tags for yet another two years!

(To those of you who help me pay to keep my car registered and insured – I salute you!)

And to the State, who forces me to go through this nonsense every couple years to extort revenue from me – you already received my salute!

bronx

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “The Universe Plays A Joke On Government

  1. Congrats! Anchorage dropped its emissions-testing program two years ago, as we hadn’t had an “air quality non-compliance day” in nearly 20 years. Nobody misses it except the owners of the testing sites.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 12, 2015, 8:02 am
  2. Backfires aren’t good… just sayin…

    Posted by Old NFO | May 12, 2015, 9:43 am
  3. LOL!

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | May 12, 2015, 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

