you're reading...
action, analysis, basic, burglars, CCW, common sense, control, crime, dangerous, family, friends, law enforcement interaction, lessons, personal responsibility

You’ve Caught The Burglar!

burglarHome invader(s), rapist, armed robber…!

Inside your home…in your yard…on the street…

You got the drop on him (them) and they acceded to your demands, dropped their weapons

AND FROZE.

NOW WHAT?

Do you have a PLAN?  Coordinated with your family members?  Who is going to be where?  Who is calling the police?

You are in your pajamas and barefoot.  How will you identify yourself to the police when they arrive?

OR WILL YOU BE SITTING HANDCUFFED ON THE KERB NEXT TO THE FELONS WHILE THE POLICE SORT THINGS OUT?

My point is simply this – HAVE A PLAN!  For inside your home and yard.  Coordinated with family, and perhaps even neighbors/block watch folks.

AND, if you get the drop on an armed robber out on the street, how do you expect to control them while you call the police?  Is there a kidnapping and false imprisonment charge in your future?

We’re told by the experts to plan what to do if an armed robber goes up to the cashier at the Denny’s where we are sitting.

There should be a plan already thought out for the aftermath.  EVEN IF NO ROUNDS ARE DISCHARGED.

Being an armed citizen is more of a responsibility than just carrying a gun.

Be prepared.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “You’ve Caught The Burglar!

  1. they acceded to your demands, dropped their weapons

    As far as my or family personal protection goes, I’m pretty much done.
    I want my back close to a wall or substantial vehicle so I have as small a blind spot as possible. I will be yelling for someone to call 911 if there isn’t somebody with me already doing that.
    I’ll have to ask the wife if her phone lets her take a picture of Sumdood (if he takes off) to show to the arriving police while talking to 911. If the bad guy/gal(s) decide to run, I have no argument with danger getting farther away from me. Hope you have comfortable shoes and I also *really* hope your saggy pants cause numerous face plants on asphalt!

    Posted by KM | May 31, 2015, 10:19 am
  2. Excellent point! And concur with KM, if they run, so be it…

    Posted by Old NFO | May 31, 2015, 5:54 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

