you're reading...
advertising, appearance, bloggers, Chinese, choices, common sense, equipment, espionage, filthy lucre, remembering

Rolex Stories

I always wanted a Rolex™.

When I was newly married (and quite cash poor) I used to moon at the jeweler’s window in the Christown Mall, eying the Oyster Perpetual (in stainless or course, the lowest rung).  I think they wanted $350 for it!

Might as well have been 10 million!

Of course, this lust was because of my following of the tales of James Bond.  Since the 7th Grade.  Both the films and the books.  (Hint – the books are superior!)

When I became an adult, the lust continued.  And I never cobbled together enough funds to acquire one.

(I toyed with buying a knock-off on the Internet once, but it was Chinese, and I couldn’t bring myself to do it!)

Then I read a story.

Some guy was flying first class, and happened to be seated next to a well-appointed businessman.  They got to talking, and it turned out the business guy was the president of Rolex!

So, in the name of polite conversation, the other guy asked, “How’s the watch business?”

The response?  “I’ve no idea – I’m in the luxury business!” 

And, as a (somewhat) responsible adult, I always chuckled at the idea of a British intelligence agent either buying or being issued such an expensive timepiece.  Certainly not to keep undercover?

Then, Stormbringer gave me the answer!

(You have to click on the watch to see it!)

PETEs ROLEX

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Rolex Stories

  1. Verily, it doth give a whole new meaning to “value”, no?

    Posted by Rev. Paul | June 7, 2015, 9:55 am
  2. I still have mine, I’ve never had to ‘use’ it… And hopefully never will!

    Posted by OId NFO | June 7, 2015, 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

