you're reading...
celebrate, dumb luck, education, foolishness, friends, games, hi-skool, memories, sports, TMCCC

Befuddling The Hipster

My good friend Old NFO recently posted about playing board games (as opposed to playing electronic, I suppose?)

Of mention was the at one time ubiquitous Trivial Pursuit™.

And this tweaked a memory of mine.

(BTW – I’m not a big game player.  Was never that skilled at chess, and sports are a loss for me, most of you regular readers know.  Perhaps I’ve just not found the right game…?)

Sometime back in the 80s, Trivial Pursuit appeared on the scene.  Being married at the time, the wife commanded we join with other couples to socialize.  And play games.  Sigh.

And Trivial Pursuit was the name of the game.  (Better than Uno, that’s for certain!)

(I’ve made this statement before)  My mind is a veritable cornucopia of useless crap!  Translation – I know a lot of trivia!)

If memory serves me, we played twice, and we won twice!  Then the other couples stopped playing with us for some reason(?)  🙂

My Achilles heel was always the sports questions, unless there was some kind of historical import – then I knew it.

Fast-forward to working at TMCCC.  Once of my coworkers for a while was a hipster.  Calf length pant-shorts (somehow allowed in the dress code), tattoos on arms and legs.  Visible piercings and ear gauges.

And a nice enough guy.  Just not the sharpest spoon in the drawer.  I think he was high during most of high school.

During some forgettable 4 month period, management created ‘games’ for us to play in our ‘teams’.  To create cohesiveness amongst us.  Even though we still we pitted against each other in the real world!

And one of these games was a daily trivia question from – you guessed it, someone’s defunct Trivial Pursuit set.

And I got a sports question:

Whom (I think it said who) did the Boston Red Sox (jokingly) offer to trade for Mickey Mantle in the 1950’s?

Of course, this was also historical, so I knew the answer – Ted Williams!

And tattoo boy was beside himself!  HOW could you possibly know such a thing?  You’re not a sports guy!

I don’t remember what menial award I received for getting the answer correct.  Befuddling the hipster was the best reward.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Befuddling The Hipster

  1. Oh yeah, that game DID produce some interesting side effects… Our go to sports guy, was a girl! 🙂 She was a stats nut, and by default knew most of the sports questions!

    Posted by Old NFO | June 19, 2015, 6:19 pm
  2. I used to kill at Trivia Pursuit for the same reason – if it’s a bit of history that is useless to my making a living I would remember it.

    Where I put the car keys…not so much.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | June 21, 2015, 7:41 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

