you're reading...
American, celebrate, comedy, death, good wishes, humor, memories, PI biz, politically incorrect

Minus Another Firesign

It was reported 0619 that we lost yet another member of The Firesign Theatre comedy troupe.

This time, it’s PHIL AUSTIN, the voice of Private Nick Danger – Third Eye

Phil Austin, dies at 74; voice of Firesign Theatre’s Nick Danger (link)

Even though I was growing up ‘in the 60’s and 70’s’, I was never a drug culture kind of guy.  But, that didn’t mean that I didn’t appreciate their humor.  (Sometimes, alcohol was involved, though!)  Being a fan of PI fiction and wanting to become one (I eventually did) added to the joy brought by The Firesign Theatre.

RIP Phil.

I guess we’re all eventually bozos on this bus, eh?

h/t Dave the mechanic, LA Times

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Minus Another Firesign

  1. Getting old sucks, don’t it?

    Posted by Rev. Paul | June 23, 2015, 9:49 am
    • Well, in my view, it’s a mixed bag.
      On one hand, watching family, friends and familiar faces leave does suck. As does
      chronic health issues.
      But, I think I’ve more here to do.
      (I don’t know exactly what?)

      Posted by guffaw1952 | June 23, 2015, 10:10 am
  2. I don’t remember them, or him…

    Posted by Old NFO | June 23, 2015, 8:40 pm
  3. Doggedly….Ruthlessly (I wonder where Ruth is?)

    That’s too bad about Phil. 74 years is a pretty good run I guess. Wish it could have been longer if his mind was still working as designed.
    Some of the funniest things I’ve ever heard on a record were from Firesign Theater!

    Posted by KM | June 24, 2015, 3:35 pm
    • Agreed. Every time I see another prescription commercial, listing side effects, I always substitute (either silently or aloud) their list: flushing, blushing, high stool, seat cramps, delayed boborigmous and shortness of pants! 😆
      They were comic geniuses , and now are half gone.
      RIP…

      Posted by guffaw1952 | June 24, 2015, 5:01 pm
  4. Sigh. You don’t understand how a radio works.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | June 25, 2015, 4:03 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

