you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', 'science', addiction, agenda, annoyance, computers, control, corruption, customer service, dangerous, everyone, Fourth Amendment, gov't, history, lost culture, monumental-waste-of-time, nanny, paradoxes, paranoia, surveillance, vigilance

Gimme That Ol’ Time Research

Old-Timers will completely get this.

(Youngsters, not as much!)  🙂

I remember a time (voice fades out, looking wistfully skyward…)

When a random thought regarding some subject entered my mind,  And I wanted to know more about it. So, I checked my bookshelf for dictionaries, encyclopedias and reference books.

If THAT failed…

It was a trip to the public or college library, next chance I got, searching for similar materials and more specific ones about the subject.  Later-in-life, as a private investigator, city directories and telephone directories sometimes offered help.

And failing all that, the reference desk librarians.

But, all this took time, legwork and shoe leather.  It was what we had.

Since the early 90’s, most of us have had access to The Internet.  And now many of the same reference materials are available on line.

More quickly and with less walking.

I wonder what we old-timers will be wistfully thinking about The Internet in 10 or 20 years?

Ain’t technology grand?

Or have we been sucked in to a vortex of uber-surveillance, wherein ‘they’ can watch and record our every movement and action.  And what were look for on the ‘net, and where we shop, what we buy, how and where we travel and work?  With whom we communicate and associate?  What ideas we share?

Of course, the same data was available 25 years ago.  But took much more in-person research and surveillance.  And time.

And much as we cannot go back to dial-up, we can’t stop this ever-encroaching technology.  But we can petition the government to stop abusive information gathering, and limit our exposure – somewhat.tin_foil_hat_area

(Puts tin-foil chapeau back on and skulks back into the shadows…)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Gimme That Ol’ Time Research

  1. “But we can petition the government to stop abusive information gathering, and limit our exposure – somewhat.”

    I think the genie’s out of that bottle, and there’s no putting it back. Bureaucracies seek power, and never willingly let it go.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 10, 2015, 8:39 am
  2. Dad got a call from the school, informing him I’d skipped class about 12 times that quarter with no parental note. They said “do you know where she is?” He replied “She’s at the library” Dumbfounded they asked why”. He said “you aren’t challenging her she’s bored out of her mind and is learning on her own”.

    Yes, I skipped school to go to the library.

    Posted by Brigid | July 10, 2015, 7:04 pm
  3. The only ‘choice’ for privacy is to disconnect… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | July 10, 2015, 9:05 pm
  4. If THAT failed…It was a trip to the public or college library

    I usually wasn’t doing research per se but getting bored and going into a library was something I used to do quite often. That “cost” me many days when I would hit the library around lunchtime only to find out that when I left, it was dark and way past dinner time.
    If they served beer I wouldn’t have left even then!

    Posted by KM | July 11, 2015, 8:39 am
  5. “And much as we cannot go back to dial-up”

    And what makes you think evervbody’s left dial-up? I’m down in a hollow where wireless companies can’t reach me, I’d have to cut down a couple of acres of trees to get a shot at a satellite (and the local providers don’t have the bandwidth to cover this area, in spite of the mass mailings asking me to sign up) and cell service is so spotty that I can move 2-3 steps around the house and drop calls. At least I can console myself with the thought that nobody would be willing to spend the time it’d take to hack my machines and get any data they might think could possibly be of interest. The ROI for hackers just ain’t there, and any alphabet agencies in fed-gov aren’t gonna put up with the waste of time it’d be for somebody to monitor me. They can check up on all you guys with high-speed in the blink of an eye. There’re some advantages to livin’ in the sticks. Not that I’m necessarily always happy to be connecting at 28K, you understand.

    Posted by Inbredredneck | July 13, 2015, 2:34 pm
    • My apologies. No offense intended. I was speaking out of my own personal experience. I don’t know the percentages, but I know that as technologies move ‘forward’, rightly-or-wrongly, they leave the older technologies behind. Planned obsolescence.
      Seen a telephone booth, lately?
      “They can check up on all you guys with high-speed in the blink of an eye. There’re some advantages to livin’ in the sticks.”
      No doubt! 🙂

      Posted by guffaw1952 | July 13, 2015, 6:34 pm
      • Aw, shucks, no offense taken. I just get tired of those who move to an area like the one in which I’m livin’ and then complain about connection speeds. One guy in particular thinks that high-speed is a right, and the guy he elected better make sure it happens before the end of his term. I figure I get whatever speed I’m willin’ to purchase.
        I can’t remember seein’ a phone booth lately, but Iff’n I recollect correctly, the local store may still have a pay phone hangin’ on an outside wall. Then again, I ain’t all that sure that Superman is still around to need a booth.
        Thanks for an interesting site, and lettin’ me share some thoughts.

        Posted by Inbredredneck | July 14, 2015, 8:33 pm
      • Thank YOU for bothering to read and comment! ☺

        Posted by guffaw1952 | July 14, 2015, 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

