you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', .40, .45 ACP, 9mm, agenda, ammunition, Col. Cooper, debate, equipment, military, old-school, research, self-defense, tacticool

Stopping Power Redux

I had a conversation the other day with (you guessed his name) Bob!  (of PI, gun store and recent amputation fame! – he’s doing fine btw…) (pictured below)

ANYWAY, he was bragging about a recent target shooting escapade, and his use of 9mm now as his self-defense ammunition!0706151257_0001

I was taken aback.  He’d always been an old-school, Cooper-educated type, like me.  I asked him what changed his mind.

He said recent findings have shown 9mm (in modern self-defense designs) have performed better than 45 ACP!

Now, being old-school, I always relied on the findings of General Julian Hatcher, the Thompson LaGarde tests, Marshall/Sanow and Lt. Col. Jeff Cooper.

Almost concurrent with this conversation, I had THIS come across my desk (a Twilight Zone moment, to be sure!):

U.S. Military Makes Monumental Shift To Hollowpoint Pistol Ammuntion

(in part) A military lawyer who made a presentation during the Industry Day noted that the United States is not a signatory to the Hague Conventions which outlawed the use of “dum-dum” and expanding bullets more than a century ago. It is the military’s position that the shift to jacketed hollowpoint (JHP) ammunition, which more efficiently transfers energy to the target and which presents much less of a risk of over-penetration, is more humane and less of a risk to innocent civilians downrange in modern combat where there are often no clear front lines. (…)

I strongly suspect that the Army has already taken a long and hard look at the data produced by the Federal Bureau of Investigation when they recently investigated switching handgun calibers, an investigation that led the agency to abandon the .40 S&W in favor of the 9mm. The FBI discovered that 9mm outperforms both .40 S&W and .45 ACP when using premium hollowpoints, while having less perceived recoil and much greater ammunition capacity.

We are no longer using 60 cal. musket balls.  Have the new findings by the FBI and U.S. Military discounted the previous century’s research, now that the ammunition has been more scientifically designed?  Or do the basic laws of physics still apply – frontal area, mass, velocity and center-mass hits?

So, what do WE think, dear readers?

h/t B. Hall, Doc, Midway, Wiki

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Stopping Power Redux

  1. I don’t know that one popular defensive handgun caliber performs “better” than another (they ALL suck!!) but it is obvious that shooters can shoot faster and more accurately with guns that have less recoil.

    I love my 357s, 44s and 1911s. The magnums have Mega Power and the 1911s are spooky accurate….but I carry a 9mm for self defense. More high quality boolits at a much faster pace in places on the body that have *really* important stuff in them is what I’m striving for.

    Posted by KM | July 11, 2015, 8:55 am
  2. I dunno. It was a 9mm in the war and now I carry a .40 for personal protection. Just based on my own preference and experience…

    Posted by anotherwarriorpoet | July 11, 2015, 2:54 pm
  3. I’m reading more articles saying that. Which is a good thing because 9 mms tend to fit my small hands better. Not as fat, as it were.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | July 12, 2015, 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

