you're reading...
annoyance, common sense, customer service, dumb luck, errors-in-judgement, expectations, H.O.A., injury, lessons, monumental-waste-of-time, physical health, property, shoes, tools, whining

Yardwork

We (here at our townhouses) have been hearing for some months now about ‘improvements’ to be made on the exterior (many at our expense) by the ‘maintenance’ folks, as ordered by the HOA (homeowner’s association).

FINALLY, they are getting to it.

And they gave us TWO DAYS NOTICE to make our yard ready for the incursion of workers, and loud noises, for up to SEVEN DAYS (beginning @ 0630) , including leaving our (broken) back gate unlocked (the one with a spring-loaded lock, making it virtually impossible to leave it unlocked), lest they hire a locksmith @ $75.00/hour to open it!

SIGH

So, we spent three days moving the many potted plants – including cacti (and succulents), sized in pots 3 inch to 30 inch across, along with pavers, bricks, empty pots, yard ‘decor’, tools, and all manner of things adjacent to the North fence, so they can do their work.

Ouch.

J. had jury duty on the first day, so I did my part on my own, with painful results.  It seems it’s preferential to wear my flat (normal) shoe in lieu of ED SULLIVAN (the really big shoe) when working physically on uneven dirt and gravel surfaces.

Lest I fall, which I did…

Ouch.

I careened forward, landing across some pots and pavers I had just stacked, bruising and scraping my right arm and knocking the pottery into a glass yard globe, which promptly shattered.

Fortunately, I didn’t propel forward enough to land on the glass!

THEN, I had glass to clean up!

SIGH

Hopefully, this’ll all be completed soon (maybe they will fix the gate?)  The arm is healing nicely, and additional pain meds are helping with the jarring of my skeleton and resulting muscle pains of physical labor.

It’s nice they chose frickin’ JULY and AUGUST to undertake these tasks, when DECEMBER would have been so much cooler!

MAROONS!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Yardwork

  1. Guffaw, you really need to adopt a three-point stance, as it’s the most stable base even on uneven surfaces. (How you’re to do that, I have no idea. Hey, I’m a big-picture guy, okay?) 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | August 1, 2015, 3:03 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

