you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', advertising, catalogs, choices, Christmas, credit, customers, enthusiam, free market, gear, geekery, Internet, men, monumental-waste-of-time, shopping

Dude, I Want That!

Back-in-the-day, in a previous lifetime, I was married.  And, ‘the wife’ and I, like most young married folk, were poor.

NOT living on the street-out-of-dumpsters poor, but we weren’t yuppies…

And we spent much of our free time off together window shopping.  We would adjourn to one of the nicer malls and walk around, people watching, and looking agog at the clean, shiny goods in the various stores.

Most ALL of which we couldn’t afford.  It was cheap entertainment.

Now, here it is 35-ish years later.  I’m divorced (although my ex-wife lives about 1/4 mile N.E. of me, and we remain friends).  And walking long distances on tiled concrete is not something my legs and feet tolerate very well.

SO, as with many other things, I ‘live’ on the Internet!

Now, the nice thing about this (aside from wearing boxer shorts whist ‘window shopping’) are the myriad of shopping locations – Amazon, EBay, L.L.Bean, Brownells, Duluth Trading, Dillon Reloading.

But wait, there’s MORE! (as they intone on late night TV).

WERD and UNCRATE

and DUDE I WANT THAT!  🙂

Now I don’t know which came first – and I really don’t care (nor do I receive anything from them, FTC!), but these carbon copies of each other are wonderful merchants who market to MEN (and like-minded women) all manner of things through their respective retailers.

Subcategories in Uncrate

Subcategories in Werd

 

Just what every guy with spare funds needs to fritter about a weekend afternoon, purchasing everything from ecofriendly toothbrushes and razors, to rye whiskey and SUVs!

Or, if you are like me, just windows shops…

Everything that’s old is new again!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Dude, I Want That!

  1. Even just a dozen years ago, before any of the “big box” national chains opened stores here, we were limited to a few local sporting goods shops (e.g., expensive), Wally World and Sam’s Club.

    Amazon was, and remains, our friend. I still buy more from Amazon than from any local source. But I can walk around inside Cabela’s for half a day & not get tired. 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | September 26, 2015, 9:59 am
    • If the Cabela’s here were only closer…(it’s across the Valley).
      (there IS a Bass Pro not too far away)

      Sadly, between our mutual pain issues, and roomie’s asthma, walking distances doesn’t happen as it used to.
      We both use Amazon, when we can afford it.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | September 26, 2015, 6:42 pm
  2. I ‘should’ have window shopped today… sigh…

    Posted by Old NFO | September 26, 2015, 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

