you're reading...
analysis, basic, being human, choices, concerns, crime, personal responsibility, school shootings, security, security guard, tactics, terrorism, vigilance

Attitude? Belief? Mindset?

One of my regular readers (and a dear friend) teaches at the college level.  Obviously, when school shootings, such as recently occurred in Oregon happen, it gets her attention.

She wrote on her blog regarding the grief and the aftermath.  And of her decision to NEVER carry a gun into her classroom, lest she be forced to assess her students as potential threats.  In her words, I’m not going to go there.

AND THAT IS HER CHOICE!  Period.

As a part-time, professional firearms instructor, I may disagree with that choice.  But it IS her choice.

I’ve been carrying, possessing, having-nearby, wearing both concealed and/or openly, a sidearm most of my adult life.  Doing so is part of who I am and what I do.  I did so openly even when attending community college, before it was ‘restricted’ by law.

And I have already made the decision to take action, should that become necessary.  Jeff Cooper called this having a mindset.

Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everybody you meet.  –  Major General James Mattis (USMC – Retired)

Mattis reportedly said this to his Marines as one of his rules to live by while they were stationed in Iraq.

And that’s different from participating or teaching in a college in the United States.

The question is how different?

Certainly, one should be in Condition Yellow in a public place.  Generally aware.

But how one responds to a threat is a personal choice!

I think a wiser choice would be to be armed.  However, some folks just aren’t built that way.  And unless they radically change their mindset, it’s best they choose NOT to be armed.

Hopefully, it will always be a choice…

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE!

Yet another friend lives in a gated community, for folks 55 and over (a mobile home park).  They have drive-in gate ‘security’, but they are not trained, nor armed.  Usually their function is to direct you to a person’s residence.  And the walls around the park are four feet, or less.  The closest to ‘security’ are the speed bumps.

And he advised me the other day that he NEVER LOCKS HIS HOME!

Again, his choice.

I suspect he’s not particularly aware…

Some folks just aren’t built that way.

I pray all my friends are safe, and take reasonable measures to ensure that security – whatever their choices.

Sigh.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Attitude? Belief? Mindset?

  1. In her words, I’m not going to go there.

    Too bad that in some states, she will be making that choice for EVERYBODY in the room throughout the day whether they like her choice or not.
    If someone hates the very thought, then yes, they shouldn’t be armed. But they MUST to be told that their dream world doesn’t exist so at least they’re making an informed choice.

    Posted by KM | October 20, 2015, 9:40 am
  2. I thought and prayed about my decision a long time. But I’ve made the decision that in certain circumstances I will shoot at the center of mass of a human being and accept that they might die as a result of that. I feel that you really need to think it through and make a conscious decision – Yes, in certain circumstances (with recognition that sometimes circumstances evolve quickly and I may not have more than a few seconds to make a decision), I will shoot and kill another human being. You carry a gun, that could happen. Don’t carry a gun if you can’t make that decision. You dither, you, or someone else, dies.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | October 20, 2015, 5:42 pm
  3. We each make our choices… And we each have to live with the consequences of those choices.

    Posted by Old NFO | October 20, 2015, 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

