you're reading...
common sense, communication, errors-in-judgement, family, gun culture, hoplophobia, mistakes, personal responsibility, truth

Significant Others and Firearms

I’ve not had a significant other (wife, girlfriend, etc.) for many years.  😦  I’ve been fortunate that the last couple were interested in firearms and I was able to further educate them.

And both carried.

But, I saw a blog post on the Alien Gear Holsters Blog that caught my interest.  And reminded me of some others I’ve known with less-than-interested significant others…

HOW TO CONVINCE YOUR WIFE TO LET YOU CARRY CONCEALED

With regard to how informed the significant others should be, I’ve two tales of woe:

A student of mine who worked at TMCCC with me had a wife who was vehemently anti-gun.  Before we met, he had talked her into allowing him to have a Glock 19 in their home.  (unloaded and locked away, of course!)  We were able to go out shooting a couple of times, and I was able to markedly improve his speed and groupings. Part of this involved what he referred to as his front sight epiphany!  (finally understanding how focusing on the front sight versus the target was the correct method to shoot).  He loved shooting, and became enamored with one of my AR-15 rifles.

You can see where this is going, can’t you?  🙂

Another one of my students had become proficient in assembling AR-15s for a local rifle manufacturer (as a side job).  He had also begun his own business to do the same.

And my student really wanted an AR-15!

Well, I connected the two of them, and a deal was made.  The rifle was made and passed to my student in the TMCCC parking lot (carried under disguise of a blanket).  Had we been discovered, both of us would have been undoubtedly fired, due to having a firearm on the premises.  (This was a few years ago).  But the exchange went fine.

Unfortunately, my student had been dishonest, as he neglected to tell his wife of the purchase!!

I disagreed with him, but, Hell, I wasn’t married to her.

He even kept the rifle bivouacked at a friend’s house (not mine), lest she fine out…

The morals and ethics in a marriage is for another blog post.

Ultimately, he was promoted, and had to move to Chicagoland, get a FOIA card (to get to keep his Glock), and was unable to take the rifle!  My understanding is he visits her (the rifle) when he comes out to the Phoenix TMCCC office.

The other story is of another TMCCC student.  We were good friends and coworkers, and again, his wife hated firearms.  But, he started with a .357 Ruger revolver.  Obtained his CCW permit and bought a 1911.  And carried often, much to the consternation of his wife.  But, he did obtain her permission.

Then, suddenly and unexpectedly, he died.  In going through his things, his wife discovered a 12 gauge pump shotgun (of which she was unaware).  She gave the revolver, the semiautomatic, and the shotgun to her son-in-law, who was a shooter.

Just to get them out of her house.

She received a call from a local gun store.  A gun which he had ordered had just come in, all paid for.  She called me, asking what she should do.  I suggested as it was all paid for, she should pick it up and give it, too, to her son-in-law.

That she did.

coonanIt was a custom Coonan .357 semiautomatic!

Too bad she just couldn’t stand firearms – she would have had quite a little collection.

I suggested to her, if she ever changed her mind (now living alone, and all) I’d be happy to educate and train her in firearm safety and self-defense.

No call to date.

(FTC – Alien Gear, Glock, Ruger and Coonan gave me nothing!  GO AWAY!)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Significant Others and Firearms

  1. People are just flat strange where guns are concerned… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | October 30, 2015, 1:46 pm
  2. Deciding together is a whole bunch better than deciding alone … one might not care for the inevitable response.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | October 30, 2015, 11:25 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

