you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', advertising, agenda, American, anger, business, customer service, errors-in-judgement, food, memories, romance, unrequited lust

A Journey Through Fallen Golden Arches

mcdMcDonald’s was never on my radar as a child.  We, as a family, rarely did ‘fast food’, and when we did, it was something like Kentucky Fried Chicken (before they stopped calling it fried, as hawked by the REAL Kentucky Colonel!) or Gibby’s Broasted Chicken.  I do remember a visit to Dogs N’ Suds, once.

My Dad was one of those guys, who if they had a poor commercial experience with a vendor, never gave them a second chance.  He used to often regale us with the tale of visiting McDonald’s Sunstroke Room (because they didn’t have covered, exterior parking in the Phoenix Summers), and ordering a chocolate shake-thin, because he preferred to drink them through a straw rather than eat them with a spoon.  He didn’t understand that they had recently begun utilizing an early milk shake machine in lieu of the Mixmaster, making shakes one thickness. Thick.  That forever ruined McD’s for him.  And colored his later fast-food decisions.

So we got to hear the sunstroke room tale every time their TV commercial appeared.  And we never went there.

The first time I visited McDonald’s, I was a college freshman, trying desperately trying to impress fellow freshman Marta B. (a lovely Scandinavian brunette) to go make out with me study for finals.  During an abortive effort to get alone, she asked we drive through.  I was unimpressed, mostly because I was a horny freshman, but also because the generic cheeseburger had ketchup, mustard and a pickle chip – of which I was not fond.

It was five years later, when my Dad (who by then knew the franchisee of the dreaded sunstroke room location – the first McDonald’s in Phoenix – then located a little South of the SW corner of Central and Indian School Rd.) got me a job there when I was between ‘better’ jobs.

I worked there almost two weeks.  I learned how to prepare their signature sandwiches, fries and shakes, including making them to my tastes.  And, that, when when one wasn’t serving a customer or cooking, one was cleaning!  That impressed me.

Then, I moved on to another, more familiar, security guard-related job.  The McDonald’s moved a little further South, and across the street.  No more neon arches.  Or sunstrokes.  They now had an indoors.

By then I was hooked.  After all, I knew how to order my favorite burgers, now.  And they had terrific fries.

Life continued.  I grew up, got married, became a father.  And sometimes took Molly to The Golden Arches.  My (then) wife was never a fan, preferring Jack-In-The-Box.  (Whom I also like.)

And, somewhere down the line, I got separated and divorced.  And McDonald’s began serving breakfast! 

I found I liked the sausage biscuits.  And hash browns!  Breakfast service ending promptly at 10:30 A.M.

Recently, McD’s has begun losing it’s market share.  And they’ve made a number of changes to their menu since I was trying to kiss Marta.  All in the name of getting back on top of the fast food pyramid.

Finally, they announced October 6 that they would loosen their no breakfast after 10:30 policy and begin serving breakfast ALL DAY!  As many of their competitors have already done.

I was thrilled!  I needed to run to Safeway yesterday morning, and needed to eat something.  A McDonald’s is conveniently just across the street.  What time is it? – OH, THAT’S RIGHT – All Day Breakfast!

Alas!  It was false advertising.  The do have some items from the breakfast menu all day – but NOT the sausage biscuits!

Fooled again by The Golden Arches.

And no Scandinavian beauty to kiss, either!

attention FTC – neither KFC, Gibby’s or Mickey D’s have given me anything.  Nor did Marta, and I’m frustrated – GO AWAY!

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “A Journey Through Fallen Golden Arches

  1. We haven’t darkened the doorway (or drive-through) of Mickey D’s since the story broke about a manager who was fired for paying for meals for military guests. The quality (at least locally) has been going downhill for several years, and we weren’t going often, before. And by the way, the first one I ever visited, circa 1961, looked like the one you have pictured, above.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 5, 2015, 9:55 am
    • Yeah. That picture was the first one. Similar to the original Phoenix one. Some are corporate owned, some franchises. I think that’s why some quality and decisions vary. I’m annoyed by the downturn of quality, as well.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | November 5, 2015, 10:53 am
  2. Haven’t been there in years. The one nearest my house hired a bunch of illegals, so you had to order in Spanglish, and they couldn’t understand any change. Plain! Llevaba! Hamburger and bun! Hamburguesa y bollo! (Blank stare) Sigh… Their fries became bleh after they changed the oil, too.

    My fast food has been fried chicken and frozen pizza (with added cheese and toppings) from the grocery store. If I want a burger, I make one.

    Posted by tweell | November 5, 2015, 12:09 pm
    • Yeah, agreed. Sadly many of the Latino staffs don’t understand extra mustard. The Eastern Europe staffed one does, though!
      When I can afford it, Red Robin or Thirsty Lion Pub are the burger places.
      But they are not ‘fast food’…

      Posted by guffaw1952 | November 5, 2015, 12:16 pm
  3. I’ll have to admit I do hit the drive throughs when on road trips… I do like the fries!

    Posted by Old NFO | November 5, 2015, 1:08 pm
  4. Mmmm…. Dog-n-suds….

    Posted by Murphy's Law | November 5, 2015, 4:02 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

