you're reading...
annoyance, crime, customer service, dangerous, errors-in-judgement, illegal aliens, law enforcement interaction, life, memories, physical health, weirdness

I Sometimes HATE Novembers…

November 8, 2007

I had spent Saturday night with my (then) girlfriend J. (who is now my landlord – it’s complicated) and we were caravaning back to my place in central Phoenix on Sunday night, around 7 PM.  At the time, we both had Sunday’s and Monday’s off.

And I was about ten minutes ahead of her, preparing to pull into my driveway, when I noticed something annoying.

The porch light I had left on was not burning.

Damn!  I just bought another yellow, incandescent bug bulb.  They burn out so fast.

So, I pull into the drive, key my way in the back door, and head back to my bedroom to unpack.

It’s not just the bulb that’s off.  My interior wall behind my bed has fallen upon it!  The wall to the rear of the house seems to have moved laterally about 12 inches – making my doorway to the back office, computer/reloading room narrower by about a foot!  I look in there, and most everything is strewn about and on the floor.

Exiting and looking into the adjacent bedroom, my gun safe remains, but the wall behind it has also shifted East about a foot!

WTF?!

I call J., who is still in route and explain something is very wrong.

Then, there is a knock on the carport door and I answer it.  It’s a neighbor, who explains about 4 AM that morning, a vehicle drove through my fence and drove into my house!  As it was much noise, many neighbors came out to investigate and found the truck had continued to plow through my yard, pushing the rear wall of my home sideways about a foot.  He backed out and drove away, with the police in pursuit who stopped him about a block away.

It was a drunk driver in a company vehicle.  Who knew?

The neighbors figured out I was not home, and as gas seemed to be leaking called the gas company and turned off all my breakers, promising the police and gasco they would have me contact them upon my arrival.  Of course, no one knew where I was.  The gas company shut off the gas.  The police had left a note on my door asking I call them.

Then all went back to bed.  And the drunk went to jail.

All while I was ignorantly asleep at my girlfriend’s house 17 miles to the S.E.!

Sunday became a late night.  Calling my insurance man, who said they would pay for a (cheap) hotel, gathering up some additional clothes, and awaiting the construction guys who would plywood all the broken windows, the rear of the house and doors to make the house more secure.

More neighbors became aware of my returning home and stopped by to see if I was alright.  The Latinos across the street – who spoke no English, and I suspect were illegals – brought me over a kitten to cheer me up!

Restless sleep began something like 0130.

And I was unable to return home except to check the mail for about six months, while the insurance company rebuilt my little house, moved me to a condo and cleaned up the mess.

Sadly, I had to return the kitten.

But wait, there’s more…

(look for the sequel in about two weeks!)  🙂

(I will continue to post daily, this is just building suspense…)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “I Sometimes HATE Novembers…

  1. Lucky you weren’t in bed when he hit the place! o^O

    Posted by Old NFO | November 8, 2015, 8:55 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: November 24, Six Years Ago | Guffaw in AZ - November 25, 2015

  2. Pingback: November 24, Seven Years Ago | Guffaw in AZ - November 25, 2015

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

