you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, annoyance, being human, blogging, charity, comedy, customer service, dumb luck, errors-in-judgement, excuses, Fear, frustration, health, kind thoughts, lessons, neuroses, personal responsibility, self-reflection, The Golden Rule, whining

What’s In A Name?

Billy Shakespeare said that.

I’d a recent experience, wherein I left a blog post comment @ one of my blogfriend’s™ blogs.  A few minutes later, it occurred to me that I’d addressed him by someone else’s name!

And there was no method in his blogging software by which I could make a correction.

(I did go back and make a second comment, apologizing.)

This reminded me of a year-or-so ago, when a kind soul sent me a few dollars on my sidebar Paypal link.  (hint, hint).  It was late, I was preparing to retire, and had taken my evening meds.  (HALF of the medication I am prescribed has possible side effects of memory loss!)

And I thanked him profusely, using a wrong name!

Then, I sent him another email, apologizing.  Hopefully, I got it right the second time(?)  I’ve not heard from him ever again.

Sigh.

At least, in the few significant personal relationships I’ve had in my lifetime with the opposite sex, I’ve not uttered another woman’s name whilst in flagrante delicto!

I don’t think?  I wasn’t on this kind of medication, then…

I don’t know…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “What’s In A Name?

  1. Not speaking from personal experience but I think if you ever used the wrong girls name, she would make that memorable! And not in a good way…I’m visualizing “tornado through a trailer park” memorable.

    When I was working, we had our names on our uniforms. Years after retirement, I run into folks and remember their faces but the name escapes me. Worse is remembering only their often-not-flattering nickname!

    Posted by KM | November 17, 2015, 8:46 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

