you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', friends, fun, hi-skool, magic, memories, remembering, yutes

And Yes, Another David!

(See – I told you!)

My Life’s friendships are made up of many folks.  But an inordinate number (for whatever reason) are named either Bob (Robert) or David (Dave)!

Who knows why?

I was walking to McClintock High School to attend a Summer School session (having missed my first Freshman semester because of the onset of my leg disability) and wanting to complete high school in 3 1/2 years to stay with my class.

Turned out, a number of other Tempe High students were also attending McClintock’s Summer Session. And walking more-or-less the same way to school.

Conversations ensued.  It was about a mile-and-a-half from my house, and an 0700 start time, so it was early, ‘cooler’ (AZ summertime) and we were bored kids.

And friendships developed.  One was with David M., who had to walk an additional 1/2 mile to get to where I was.  Not to be confused with Dave the genius mechanic, or David the artist college-roommate.

And we walked together to Summer School, and back on the return trip.  And became fast friends.

David was smart, funny, musically-talented (playing piano by sound!).  He was a school A/V guy and a photographer.  And we both liked the same stuff.  Magic tricks, philosophy and girls.

Not necessarily in that order.

And it was David who introduced me to the Firesign Theatre and Cheech & Chong!

And I introduced him to the magic club.  And other the neighborhood guys became his friends, as well.

We palled around together all through high school, and into college.

His parents were divorced, and his mother was religiously conservative.  She seemed to like me, but objected to the magic club, as there were things just not right there (in her mind.)  She called playing cards The Devil’s pasteboards!

I remember both of us liking to listen to Jethro Tull.  His dad was putting an addition on his house, and we used to sit in the unfinished rooms (for the acoustics) to play flute.  I, self-taught with a rented one – he bought his and could play rings around me.  Accompanying Jethro Tull’s Aqualung, again, with David playing by ear!  He even held it wrong (not knowing any better) – both hands facing backward (fife-like) – and could STILL sound better!  And actually play!

He was going to marry once.  They canceled it at the last minute – I never did find out why.

And, as with many other friends, we drifted apart.

He has a common last name, and I’ve been unable to re-connect with him via social media for this reason.

Wherever he is, I wish him well!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “And Yes, Another David!

  1. I wish you luck in reconnecting. Perhaps if you find someone else you know from that era, and look at their list of friends …? I’ve found several from high school, a guy from boot camp, a bunch from my ship, and even one from Adak. Facebook can be useful, if used selectively.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 27, 2015, 11:13 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

