you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', actors, Chicago, government officials, humor, monumental-waste-of-time, progressive, smartassery, TV

Appearances Can Be Deceiving

Things are seldom what they seem, skim milk masquerades as cream.  –  W. S. Gilbert

I saw a guy when I was at the store the other day.  And I recoiled.  Straggly, dirty hair, unkempt beard.  I didn’t get close enough, but I’d have bet my grocery money he smelled.

Of course, he might have been the kindest, sweetest gentleman on the planet!

I’ve gone to the store after working around the house and in the yard. Sweaty, dirty.  Unshaven.  With my Shao-Lin Temple style beard.  I’m certain, to the uninformed, I must appear as a derelict.

And I’d like to think I’m a good guy(?)

But, we all react to external appearances.  It’s in our DNA to do so.

Fast-forward to watching TV the other night.  The premiere of Chicago Med, completing the triumvirate of Chicago Fire and Chicago P.D.  With some of the same crossover characters and episodes, I’m sure…

And you know me and my love of character actors!

And there’s this guy.  Tiny, wormy, the kind who makes my skin crawl, just by showing up.

And I think to myself, “I know this guy!  A great character actor – always plays the same slimy weasel!”

Then he is introduced on the show…

Mayor Rahm Emanuel of Chicago!rahm

You remember, previously The President’s Chief-of-Staff, who returned back to the nest to run for Mayor.

The guy who (in)famously said, “You never let a serious crisis go to waste. And what I mean by that it’s an opportunity to do things you think you could not do before.”

Sometimes, appearances are NOT deceiving!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Appearances Can Be Deceiving

  1. Back when he was still the Mayor of NYC, Mike Bloomberg made a couple of appearances on Law and Order. I saw Rahm on Chicago Med and had to comment to SW about who the scumbag was. She thought that was funny.

    Posted by robertsgunshop | November 30, 2015, 9:05 am
  2. Just another scumbag politician (but I repeat myself) seeking the limelight. grumblegrumblegrumble …

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 30, 2015, 11:07 am
  3. Sleazebag… Hasn’t changed…

    Posted by Old NFO | November 30, 2015, 4:00 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

