you're reading...
equipment, gun culture, guns, nomenclature, pistol v. revolver, revolvers, shooting, Smith and Wesson

Reinventing The Wheel

Or wheelgun stocks…

Now, there are those who might suggest that a new-fangled revolver stock* is akin to a better buggy whip.  No one uses revolvers, anymore!

Except, many do.

stocksMany have complained for years that the traditional trumpet-shaped revolver stock may be esthetically pleasing, but poor in design execution. After all, as recoil makes the muzzle rise, the revolver rotates up toward the more narrow part of the design.

Hardly designed for gripping the revolver well.

I like both revolvers and semiautomatics.  And I’m a big believer in having choices – the whole marketplace of goods, services and ideas.

SO, if you carry a J-Frame Smith revolver, you might look at this stock* design…

GEAR REVIEW: Ergo Grip for the J-Frame

Into the Fray Episode 92: Ergo Grip for the J-Frame – I don’t believe a gun should “punish” you when you’re shooting it. Sometimes, you have to make adjustments.

| DECEMBER 14, 2015

Looking for a comfortable grip for your small-framed revolver? Ergo Grip might just be the answer. This is a totally new and radical design when it comes to a grip for a revolver, but it is easy to install, inexpensive, and oh-so-comfortable to shoot.

On Target

Replace the grip with just one screw and start shooting in minutes. If you don’t like the standard grip on a small revolver, try this one by Ergo.

*stocks (with apologies to Kevin and Ergo for their use of the word grips) – the wooden, rubber, ivory, plastic, stag (or other material) furniture affixed to the firearm – in this case, a revolver’s grip frame. One grips the grip frame via the stocks.  (per Jeff Cooper)  This is a bugaboo with me, akin to people who say clip when they mean magazine!

FTC:  neither ERGO nor Smith & Wesson gave me anything!
About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Reinventing The Wheel

  1. I have a Smith & Wesson 442 in .38 Spcl +P; makes it about as unpleasant to shoot as possible. I replaced the tiny stock rubber handle (heh) with Hogue grips. At least now my little finger makes contact with the revolver …

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 16, 2015, 9:23 am
  2. Never did it make sense to have the thin part of a revo grip/stock/grabthingy where the fingers are the longest and the largest, fattest part where the fingers are shorter.
    Maybe with hard recoiling single actions it made sense, the so called “roll” of the gun in the hand during recoil.
    (I’ve never had that happen with 44 mags)

    I wish I knew someone that had an Ergo grip I could try before buying. Interesting concept.
    I wonder if or how much it changes the finger to trigger angle/relationship.

    Posted by KM | December 16, 2015, 1:25 pm
  3. I think the Ergo grip (stock, potato, po-tah-to) might make sense if the J-frame so equipped is the only thing you ever carry. Otherwise, the grip (meaning “how you place your mitts on the gun”) is too different from anything else.
    I have owned a lot of revolvers, and on almost every one (and every J-frame) I replaced the factory grips with Pachmayr Compacs. They’re harder to come by these days, but for me they’re exactly the right size and they cover the backstrap. I don’t like to be pounded by recoil.
    If you like the Ergos, use them in good health. They’re not for me.

    Posted by Old 1811 | December 16, 2015, 6:18 pm
  4. I also think the Ergo grips would be difficult to draw from a pocket, and impossible to hang onto in an attempted gun grab. It looks like clamping down on the grip would squirt the gun out of your hand.

    Posted by Old 1811 | December 16, 2015, 6:24 pm
  5. Interesting concept, but I’d have to draw, shoot and try it first…

    Posted by Old NFO | December 16, 2015, 7:24 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

