you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', fun, history, Hollywood, memories, monumental-waste-of-time, remembering, sci-fi philosophers, women

Star Wars Memories

force

With all the hype regarding the opening of the latest in the Star Wars saga, I hearkened back to my first experience.  Or rather the second.

And one of a relative’s…

Way back in 1977 (can it be that long ago?) a movie named Star Wars was released.  I think I eventually went and saw it alone.  And, of course, I was blown away.

This was in Phoenix’ premiere Cinerama theater – The Cine’ Capri.  The wide screen, formal theater-sized experience.  Red velvet curtains and all.

My sister had taken her daughter, then age 5, to the show.  And both damn near had heart-failure when a hulking Darth Vader appeared behind them to menace the theater-goers in line for tickets!

I had been dating a woman named Ardith on-and-off for a while.  She was an Army vet, liked guns and Italian food.  She was a terrific kisser.  And was mad for science fiction. Especially Star Trek.  And thought Star Wars was some kind of cheesy rip off.  (She even had pencil nudes of Spock she bought at an early sci-fi convention – but that’s for another post.  On second thought, no, it’s not…)

I attended the showing stag because she had been unconvinced it was worthy of been seen.

Eventually, I convinced her.

And, being the prepared woman she was, she brought her ‘purse’. Essentially a duffel bag!

Lined with plastic – containing massive quantities of fresh, buttered popcorn and a six pack of cold beer!

What a terrific way to watch a movie in Cinerama with THX sound!  (We just had to wait for the loud parts to pop the pop tops! 🙂  )

Ardith and I stopped seeing each other, and moved on with our lives.  I married, became a father and I only saw two later sequels.

Then I kinda lost interest in the whole Star Wars thing.

Guess I got older…

Gotta go – it’s nap time.

PS – Han shot first!
About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Star Wars Memories

  1. Good memories. I didn’t go see the first film until it had been out for quite awhile; didn’t want to stand in line. Since we’re fans of both Star Trek & Star Wars (heresy, I know, but never saw the sense in liking only one), I explain it this way … ST created the modern space opera/wagon train to the stars concept in the ’60s, then SW raised the bar for design & special effects. ST followed & slowly improved. Each has an appeal of its own, and they’re not really in competition. One’s about a single ship and its crew; the other’s a galaxy-spanning civil uprising with multiple story lines. Never did understand how one could be “better” than the other, because they’re as different as night & day. (/rant)

    And of COURSE Han shot first – he didn’t want to be taken back to Jabba!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 17, 2015, 9:20 am
  2. Ahh, the ol’ Cine Capri. I had seen so many movies there, Godfather, the first Indiana Jones and many others, but for the life of me I can’t remember if I saw Star Wars there. I probably did since I didn’t live very far away.

    Friend of mine worked there when “Tommy” by the Who was playing in the mid 70s.
    He would let me in for the last show before closing so we would be ready to indulge in the case of beer waiting in the car after driving out to god-only-knows parts of the desert North of the city. I saw that movie 13 times!
    (the movie sucked but Ann-Margret was HOT)
    Eventually it got to the point I could snooze while Tina Turner singing “Acid Queen” was blasting away.

    Posted by KM | December 17, 2015, 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

