you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, actors, celebrate, Christmas, entertainment, enthusiam, frustration, fun, holidays, Hollywood, movies, politically incorrect

Christmas Movies

My roommate and I differ slightly in which movies we like to watch to commemorate the holidays.

My roommate likes everything Christmas, especially SANTA CLAUS related.  The three Santa Clause films (Tim Allen), Miracle On 34th Street (two versions), It’s A Wonderful Life, Holiday Inn, White Christmas, The Bishop’s Wife – you name it, we’ve (I’ve) been subjected relegated thoroughly enjoyed them over the past week or so.  Some multiple times.

On DVD or BluRay, in Stereo High Fi…

Don’t get me wrong.  I like some of those, in small doses.  Some even get me a little misty…

But over-and-over tends to be a bit much.  (Sorry J.)

I blame commercial television.  Most networks essentially shut down production for the holidays, having fall or winter finales, promising new shows in February!

And giving us fewer choice in the likes of reruns, cartoons and the stuff enumerated above for our viewing pleasure.

It’s like Steve Martin said.  127 channels and nothing’s on.

For television addicts like me, it’s dire.

But, I found a way to counteract the Christmas movie doldrums.  I’ve included in the DVD rotation, Lethal Weapon and Die Hard!

As was recently stated on Facebook, it isn’t really Christmas until Hans Gruber is seen falling from Nakatomi Plaza!

Merry Christmas to all you movie fans like me out there…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Christmas Movies

  1. I think we’ve got “American Sniper” cued up for holiday enjoyment here.

    Posted by EricN | December 20, 2015, 11:02 am
  2. We have several Christmas movies which we revisit annually: Miracle on 34th Street & It’s a Wonderful Life, obviously. The 1951 black&white version of A Christmas Carol with Alistair Sim is our favorite, of that classic. Then all of the Rankin/Bass specials from the ’60s, and one which is nearly impossible to find: The Night They Saved Christmas, with Jaclyn Smith, Art Carney & June Lockhart. I ordered it from Amazon & got what is clearly a bootleg DVD, but we don’t care.

    “American Sniper” is a good choice, too, especially after meeting Taya Kyle. 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 21, 2015, 11:15 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

