you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', anniversary, basic, beauty, blog, Blog Mothers, blogging, Brigid, celebrate, comments, customer service, Dave, entertainment, family, friends, geekery, gratitude, guffaw, monumental-waste-of-time, Tamara, thank you

Well, Here We Are. FIVE YEARS LATER!

Yep.

(Well, Here We Are, March 5, 2011)

5th1

I’ve been posting something (sometimes copied stolen from others, sometimes amended, sometimes original) EVERY DAY since March 5, 2011.  Sometimes multiple somethings…

Along with a quote, funny, beauty and a You Tube clip.

EVERY DAY

What a long, strange, but mostly good trip it’s been…

I began blogging, as I’d been reading other’s blogs for about eighteen months (being on disability, and wasting time on the computer).  It occurred to me “Hey, maybe I can find a woman who likes guns” this way?

I did.  Unfortunately, the female gun bloggers I first found were in Idaho, Ohio and Indiana.  If you didn’t guess, I’m in Arizona.  So much for THAT idea!  😦

They became my Blogmothers™

Two remain today – Brigid and Tamara.  The others stopped blogging. (I don’t think I had anything to do with it.)

This blog has seen me through good times and bad times.  Loss and regain of benefits.  Skin cancer (post recovery from lymphoma) and minor injuries.  Loss of good friends like Mark Bell and Bob Hall.

But the BEST, and most surprising part, are the friendships I’ve developed through this medium.  Who knew?

A huge thank you goes out to the generosity of people I only know through the Internet, who have offered me support, both moral and financial.  And given me gifts!  You know who you are…

I miss those who are no longer blogging, by choice or life circumstance – North, Matt, Maura, CoolChange, William the Coroner and many others.  (If I’ve left you off the list and you are still around, please forgive me).

I am SO GRATEFUL for (in no particular order) Bobbi, Doc in Yuma, Ron, Proud Hillbilly, Paul, Kevin Baker and the other Kevin, Southern Belle and KX59, Tom, Biff, Keads, Bluesun, Wirecutter, Jim, Greg, Kenny, Quizikle, Sean, Irish, Jeffery and Wilson.

And especially Murphy, Brigid, ASM826 and Borepatch!  And Judy, my roomie!

And my dear friend Dave the genius (who prefers to be called Dave the mechanic) who sends me multiple funnies daily to possibly include in the blog!  And who – when he is in town – takes me out for Red Devil pizza!  And who has been a loyal friend since 1973.

And to all you loyal folks who don’t blog or even leave comments but bother to stop by – THANK YOU!

I don’t know what the future holds, but I do plan to continue posting some useless nonsense daily for a while longer.

It gives me something on which to focus – a routine and discipline.

338,283 Visitors

394 Followers

56 Countries

2,365 Posts

11,754 Comments

FIVE YEARS!  Here’s to five more!

toast

(Now, if I could just find that WOMAN!)

FTC – Red Devil gives me nothing!
About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

24 thoughts on “Well, Here We Are. FIVE YEARS LATER!

  1. Happy Blogbirthday Guff!! 🙂
    5 years every day? I didn’t do something every day before retirement. Now I do even less.
    (I am getting more golf and shooting in so there is at least that)

    Posted by KM | March 5, 2016, 8:07 am
  2. Wow, congrats! I think I’ve been following you for about 2 years.

    Posted by chipmunk | March 5, 2016, 8:40 am
  3. Congratulations! Five years is impressive by itself, but daily posting is absolutely remarkable!
    Cheers.

    Posted by David | March 5, 2016, 9:23 am
  4. Don’t know how you do it every day. Good job!

    Posted by WellSeasonedFool | March 5, 2016, 7:04 pm
  5. Well done sir! And please keep it up!

    Posted by OldNFO | March 5, 2016, 9:09 pm
  6. I didn’t realize it has been that long, either. Hang in there & keep on publishing, my friend. Perhaps we’ll meet, one of these days. Ya never know!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | March 5, 2016, 9:27 pm
  7. Congratulations, Guffaw. Quite a milestone. I understand how it can be trying at times!

    Posted by SiGraybeard | March 6, 2016, 1:34 pm
  8. CONGRATS!

    Posted by drjim | March 6, 2016, 1:40 pm
  9. It’s been five years already! I am simply thankful that through this medium we became friends. I’ve cherished our phone conversations, funny photos and puns and all the laughter.

    Posted by Brigid | March 6, 2016, 2:55 pm
  10. Congrats, brother! Looking forward to another 5 years.

    Posted by Matt | March 6, 2016, 6:53 pm
  11. Congrats Guffaw !

    Posted by Irish | March 6, 2016, 7:26 pm
  12. Well done sir. Here’s to another five.

    Posted by Tom Lindsay | March 7, 2016, 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

