you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', childhood, enthusiam, equipment, family, friends, gentlemen, Gramp, grandfather, holidays, my Dad, swords and knives, tradition, yutes

Knives Of My Youth

There were a couple, or three.

The first I owned because of my Father’s disconnect.

He was raised on the East Coast, in a more poor part of town, by a railroad policeman/former Marine.  An Irish neighborhood.

In my mind, his youth resembled a Dead-End Kids movie, except not in NYC.

And, laws aside, there were knives and guns around.  And his Dad’s rules about them – were something akin to ‘touch anything without permission and you get a beating’!

Fast-forward to 1960s Arizona.  A desert, agricultural college town.  Lots of farm and ranch kids.  About 3/4 or whom carried some kind of folder with them.  Girls included.

And me.

We had a couple guns at home, which I was not allowed to touch (see above).

One day, while I was in grade school, my Dad came into the back yard where I was playing.  And he handed me a folding knife.  I was going to be leaving for camp in the Summer, and he thought I should have one of his (!)

CamcoWaterfallCelluloidJack

not mine

AND, not unlike The Dead End Kids, he gave me a quick lesson in Mumbley-Peg with it!  Not understanding knives didn’t stick well in the dry, desert dirt.  See, disconnect.

None of my friends had ever seen such a game.  And, anyway, they didn’t bring their knives out at school.

And, I took the knife to camp, a fellow camper borrowed it, cut himself, got taken to the ER(!), and I never saw it again!  He was okay, though.

Fast forward to a year or so later.  I’d made friends with a couple of kids a block over, including a little red headred headed girl (!)  (Puberty had yet to hit, and, anyway, she was younger than me and a friend’s sister…I wonder where she is now? STOP THAT!)

My birthday came around, and surprise-surprise, the little red haired girl stopped by with a present!  (Hell, most of my friends hadn’t given me anything!)

And what do you think it was…?

NO, not a folding knife.

A sheathed belt knife!  How cool was THAT?  Of course, my Dad immediately glommed onto it for his camping and fishing trips.

not mine

not mine

And it resided in the truck’s over-the-cab camper for years.  Until my Dad passed and everything was given away or sold.  😦

Now, my maternal grandfather (aka ‘Gramp’) always carried a knife!  When I was a kid, I thought this was a disconnect, as he was an East Coast banker-type.  The only time we ever say it was when there were presents.

Used to open the boxes!  A Christy gentleman’s knife!

not his

not his

And it, too, is lost to history.  😦

Although, if I really wanted one, Christy still makes them!

FTC – no companies gave me any of these knives for commercial endorsement – now go away!

 

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Knives Of My Youth

  1. Yes, many knives entered (and subsequently left) my life over the long decades. Boy Scout knives (a favorite), pocketknives of various colors, styles and sizes, belt knives, belt tools, sheath knives … too many to count. But I’ve still got the Ka-Bar, a Ranger which dwarfs the Ka-Bar, and … well, that would be telling. 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | March 15, 2016, 8:43 am
  2. I’ve lost more pocket knives than I can count through the years. I’ve lost *one* sheath knife. Of course it was the ONLY one that had any real sentimental value.
    Yep….the one Dad gave me dammit!
    Somehow I still have the Puma folder from 40 years ago that I had a holster made for out of saddle leather. That holster would survive a nuclear apocalypse! I had carried it for a long time but it weighs about as much as a small, loaded .380.
    In the last 10-12 years Benchmade autos have been clipped to my pocket. I have a regular Benchmade folder for traveling in restricted states. It doesn’t have the “Button Of Death” that scares legislators.
    When a friend of mine sees an Old Timer pocket knife, his eyes almost get misty.

    Posted by KM | March 15, 2016, 9:54 am
    • Funny how gun guys are almost always knife guys, as well. Guess it’s a love of tools(?) I’ve been carrying my Kershaw Blur for some years now. It replaced another Blur of a different color, who went missing under the seat of the roomie’s Honda Element! Some kind of Fourth Dimension Port, I’m tellin’ ya! I used to have a keychain-sized Swiss Army knife, but stopped carrying it when the toothpic and tweezer went missing, repeatedly. I tired of buying replacements.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | March 15, 2016, 10:17 am
  3. Grew up carrying Sow Bellys… http://www.casexx.com/DisplayPatternPageFH.asp?PatternAutoID=54
    Still have one. And a few others too.

    Posted by OldNFO | March 15, 2016, 7:21 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Tool-Bearing Animals | Guffaw in AZ - May 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

