you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', agenda, annoyance, choices, control, customer service, death, decline, free market, guns, magazines, mail-order, tradition

Harris Publications

Gun Annual 2015

Blogmother™ Tamara tells us of the following…

Harris Publications is Gone With the Wind

Newsstands were places that sold things like paper websites but with no comments section. Ask your parents, kids. http://www.gunsholstersandgear.com/2016/04/28/harris-publications-closing/ 

Bigger story can be found here.

(in part from her Folio link…)

In one fell swoop, magazine media’s ongoing digital disruption claims another victim.

New York-based enthusiast publisher Harris Publications notified employees today that the company is shutting down, effective immediately, after nearly four decades.

Founded in 1977, Harris published a wide variety of special interest magazines over the years, including newsstand mainstays SLAM, Guitar World, XXL, King, Revolver, and Woman. At the time of its closure, the company’s portfolio included Naturally, Danny Seo; Great Backyards; Celebrity Hairstyles; Juicy; Rides; Who’s Who in Baseball; and Guns & Weapons, among several others. (…)

And many other periodicals also gun-related, some memorable.

(including Guns & Weapons, Combat Handguns, Tactical Weapons, Ballistic, Special Weapons, and the various annuals)

The ever-encroaching digitally-enforced death of tree-based media marches on.

I LOVE books.  I’ve stopped buying them, largely due to price and space considerations.  The same may be said of magazines.  I receive American Rifleman as a benefit of being an NRA Life Member.  I stopped getting Shotgun News some years back, again due to cost and space considerations.  I’d subscribed to it for over eleven years.

This might change, if I had a better income – but I doubt it.  I would need a significant increase to change my living conditions and with it my available space.

I DO have Kindle on my smartphone, but haven’t used it much, yet.

And many of Harris Publications magazines (many half slick, half pulp) were either too generic or too specific for my interest.

I was oft reminded of the National Lampoon magazine cover Guns And Sandwiches!  🙂

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Harris Publications

  1. As a boy I would spend hours drooling over my dad’s old American Rifleman and Guns & Ammo mags. To quote someone famous – the times they are a changing

    Posted by Wilson | April 29, 2016, 8:34 am
  2. Another one bites the dust… sigh

    Posted by OldNFO | April 29, 2016, 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

