you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, battles, being human, choices, dysfunction, enthusiasm, memories, personal responsibility, physical health, repeat offenders, TMCCC

Chemical Warfare

I suffer from mild allergies.  Mostly an occasional cough and nasal drip, ameliorated by application of sugar-free cough drops, tissues, and daily use of Flonase™ (when I can afford it).

It seems to be seasonal in nature, like when something is blooming or dying in the wind.  It doesn’t affect my life much.

What does, however, is the onslaught of horrible scents, mostly from women’s injudicious application of a perfume they like, assuming all others like it equally.

Not all do.

I believe perfume or cologne should be used sparingly (if at all) so only those in hugging distance have the opportunity to appreciate it.

The Battle for Scent Supremacy took years at TMCCC, my former employer.  Many women thought their perfume smelled wonderful, and to share it with co-workers would bathe in a 55 gallon drum of the stuff just before entering the workplace!  Those of us affected by such pollution referred to them as the bathers!

I remember arriving early, parking traditionally a couple hundred yards from the employees’ entrance, exiting my car, and being overwhelmed by cough-inducing volumes of perfume.  With no one else in view!

And many a lengthy conversation with the offenders (if known) and management ensued.

After YEARS of complaint and negotiation, the company finally instituted a policy – if two persons were offended by your scent (and reported same to management) you were required to go home and shower and not get paid for your absence!

This cut down the offenses considerably.

Of course, this policy doesn’t extend to being out-and-about, within smelling distance of the public!

One of my favorite places (I don’t get to very often, since I moved) has a sweet manager/waitress.  Always takes care of us!  EXCEPT for the stench of the Jean Nate’ she bathes in!

Seriously, you are no longer in the Eighth Grade!

My first encounter with this kind of chemical warfare was when I attended the local university, and the Womens’ ROTC marched by!

this is not them

this is not they

But the quantity and mixture of scents was DEADLY!

(The legs were nice, though!)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Chemical Warfare

  1. Most of us have been assailed & assaulted by overwhelming clouds of lingering cheap perfume, but – thankfully – I don’t notice it often, up here. Not sure if that means I don’t notice things, or that few actually bathe in it, these days. Not sure if that means Alaskan women are more judicious in their application, as a whole, or that they don’t wear perfume. A cruder man than I might observe that most Alaskan women don’t wear much makeup, either, but I’d never mention it. I’m kind, like that. 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 17, 2016, 8:46 am
  2. It’s lovely in a crowded theater as well.

    There’re also certain foreign cultures that seem to have not noticed the deoderant aisle in our stores since they arrived. Sharing an elevator with them is also lovely.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | May 17, 2016, 6:23 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: WD-40 | Guffaw in AZ - July 9, 2016

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

