you're reading...
'R' rated, American, beauty, birthday, customer service, dreams, enthusiasm, history, magazine, memories, politically incorrect, restaurants, romance, sexism, women

Playboy Club Memories

When I was a young man, my thoughts often drifted to, well, women.  And my lack of success with them.

I wrote in this venue some time ago about a friend, Chip.  A sleazy character, to be sure, but I was lacking in friends at the time.  And needy.  One of the reasons I became his friend was his success with women.  The polite version was he was simply brazen.

And successful.

And I wasn’t either.

He liked to portray himself as successful elsewhere, as well.  Nice cars, clothes.  The appearance of money. Even if he didn’t have any. Toward that end, he joined The Playboy Club.

Something I could never afford.  I could barely afford the magazine – not that I ever bought any…

emo6

 

But, The Playboy Club was a pretty neat place.  Women in sexy Bunny costumes serving you drinks and food. Pretty good food, as I recall.  And live entertainment.  Not generally sleazy, but burlesque.

And we always dressed as if we belonged there.  As businessmen. (The membership allowed guests!)  And we got to know a couple of the Bunnies.  (“D.J. – where are you?”, he said longingly.)

I remember one time when Chip invited 10 or 12 of his co-workers there to celebrate a mutual friend’s birthday at the club. Then left the bill with the birthday boy!  Come to think of it, that may have been the last time we darkened their door…

But, it was a different time, at the height of the sexual revolution (the late 70s), with most women not yet feminists.  Now, the clubs have closed, and Hefner just sold his mansion.  Even the magazine stopped publishing nudes last December!

Guess the Internet changed many things.

playboy club

(D.J., seriously.  Call me…)

______________________________________________________
(And, now for something completely different – as promised)
I would ask all of you bloggers out there to at least make the effort to post a link to www.projectwelcomehometroops.org/#22kill

22 VETERANS COMMIT SUICIDE DAILY

Even ONE of these heroes making this choice is unacceptable! (Day #7 of 22)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Playboy Club Memories

  1. I never got to go! Whenever Fire Station 9 got a call there, they always came back smiling.
    Lovely scenery…

    Posted by KM | June 9, 2016, 9:08 am
  2. Ah well, you know what they say … nostalgia ain’t what it used to be. 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | June 9, 2016, 12:51 pm
  3. Yep, it was ‘something else’… 🙂

    Posted by Old NFO | June 9, 2016, 2:03 pm
  4. I bought the magazines, but only for the articles.

    (ahem) Not really. Though the articles were awesome, for a skin mag. Never even saw one of the clubs, and wouldn’t have tried to join if I had known of one. I wouldn’t have been their type.

    Posted by Joel | June 10, 2016, 10:00 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

