you're reading...
action, agenda, being human, bigotry, common sense, customer service, errors-in-judgement, gun culture, negligence, personal responsibility, politics, principles, RKBA, terrorism

Pink Pistols

“Thirty-one states allow all qualified citizens to carry concealed weapons. In those states, homosexuals should embark on organized efforts to become comfortable with guns, learn to use them safely and carry them. They should set up Pink Pistols task forces, sponsor shooting courses and help homosexuals get licensed to carry. And they should do it in a way that gets as much publicity as possible. “

–Jonathan Rauch, Salon Magazine, March 13, 2000

pink pistols

We did. There are now over 45 Pink Pistols chapters nationwide, and more are starting up every day. We are dedicated to the legal, safe, and responsible use of firearms for self-defense of the sexual-minority community. We no longer believe it is the right of those who hate and fear gay, lesbian, bi, trans, or polyamorous persons to use us as targets for their rage. Self-defense is our RIGHT.

(More from their site…)

I’m not gay.  And, I’m not Black, or a religious minority, or even a Republican!

But, given recent sad, horrifying events it occurred to me that while I believed all law-abiding people have the right to self-defense, I was only promoting Black and Jewish groups on my blog.

And I’m certain this is the first (and perhaps the last) time I’ve quoted Salon on my blog!

I do know some gay folks.  And have worked with some when I was in the work force.  Like every other minority (or majority member) I encountered, some were excellent at their jobs, some mediocre, and some downright near unemployable (in my opinion).

But all have a Right of Self Defense.

Let’s promote that, accompanied along with the abolition of so-called gun free zones, and bring the fight back to the terrorist and criminal.

We all owe it to each other.

_______________________________________________________

(And, now for something completely different – as promised)
I would ask all of you bloggers out there to at least make the effort to post a link to www.projectwelcomehometroops.org/#22kill

22 VETERANS COMMIT SUICIDE DAILY

Even ONE of these heroes making this choice is unacceptable! (Day #11 of 22)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Pink Pistols

  1. I can’t disagree with anything you’ve said here, and wouldn’t want to. Each person has the right to pursue survival, and publicity about how many supposed victims are actually armed & willing to fight back can only disrupt a shooter’s plans. Much as several rounds to his chest will do if he decides to proceed.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | June 13, 2016, 1:40 pm
  2. Gun free zones are nothing more than a target rich environment…

    Posted by Old NFO | June 13, 2016, 1:52 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

