you're reading...
Bob, caliber, choices, customer service, enthusiasm, Germany, gun culture, guns, pistols, rifles, TMCCC, training

(H)ugs & (K)isses

HK-USP-45-lefttThere seems to be a love/hate thing whether or not your average gunnie likes Heckler & Koch (H&K).  Most folks seem to hold an opinion, and it’s either completely positive or completely negative.

(In the interest of full disclosure, I owned an H&K 91, semiautomatic knockoff.  Which means (maybe) as the receiver was NOT of original German manufacture, I didn’t actually own one (?)  For the record, I loved her!  She took all the original accessories, including magazines.)

Never had an H&K pistol, though…

I’ve known two guys who did.  One, the late, great Bob Hall, who owned (and carried) several P7 single-stacks over the years.  And one of my students whom I met @ TMCCC.  He had a USP in .40 S&W, which he bought before we had really begun training.

He liked it (having nothing to really compare it to.)

I probably would have directed him to another brand and caliber…

John Wilson (of wilsonblog) posted recently regarding his unabashed love for his USP, in .45 ACP.

He concluded:  But even with those minor problems the USP is for me. I trust my life with it every day of the week. That says everything. 

Of course, we have the counterpoint oft mentioned in the Internet, of their dearth of customer service.  And that quirky thing of how does one pronounce Heckler & Koch, without offending at least some folks?  (different opinions about with regard to proper pronunciation).

Would I own one?  Perhaps.  But, as I’ve no funds – even the lesser expensive on my list have to wait.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “(H)ugs & (K)isses

  1. Funds or no, why bother with an H&K when there are so many other great choices out there? Not trying to step on toes, but who needs the aggravation? 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | August 5, 2016, 8:57 am
  2. They are typical examples of German efficiency, over engineered, heavy, and ONLY work with H&K parts… Other than that… 🙂

    Posted by Old NFO | August 5, 2016, 8:57 am
  3. Have shot a few in various calibers but never owned one. Too much $$ for what you get IMHO.
    When browsing handguns a while back I found an ugly HK priced approx. $2-250 more than an ugly Glock.
    If I want to spend money on an pricey blaster, I’ll buy another SIG. At least they have customer service. 🙂

    Posted by KM | August 5, 2016, 10:48 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

