you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, basic, Bill of Rights, congress, customer service, expectations, humor, Internet, laziness, leftists, magic, monumental-waste-of-time, politics, smartassery, themes

From The Desk Of YOUR NAME HERE

When I was a kid, and moving into my teen years, I did magic as a hobby (and later, semi-professionally).  As recounted in these pages.  (Magic, The Magic Club)

And, pre-Internet, there were mail-order catalogs with all manner of tricks and novelties available from across the nation.  Even the world.  And I would spend my meager allowance on as much as I could afford.

One magic and novelty company (Elbee Magic Co.) had a huge catalog, and included among the trick card decks and whoopee cushions were things like vinyl record albums, and promotional posters.  Showing folks like The Beatles, live at the London Palladium featuring YOUR NAME HERE!

How cool was that?  I could get a wall poster or even a vinyl record printed as though I were co-starring with The Beatles!  Featuring Guffaw!

I never did, though.  I was more interested in getting the playing cards.

And, time passed, and the magic company eventually went out-of-business.  And I thought, so much for THAT idea…

Here it is 2016.  The Internet is in full force, and I can (and do) send emails to politicians I hope listen to me and vote accordingly.

Yeah, right…

Sometimes, I receive a response.  Like those from Senator McCain’s office a month or two after the fact!

My congressperson is Kyrsten Sinema (D).  Aside from sometimes supporting the troops (she reportedly comes from a military family), she mostly is a big government liberal.  A (D) after her name.  Quelle surprise. 

But being significantly younger than McCain, I had expectations she would be more tech-savvy.  At least it generally only takes her a few days to a week to respond to emails I send.  Even though in matters of individual liberty we rarely agree.  Gun control, anyone?

Here is the last (form) letter I received from her (in part).  In fact, I received TWO copies.  So much for tech-savvy…

July 29, 2016

Mr. Guffaw
Wrong Street Address
Flotsam’s Mistake, AZ XXXXX-XXXX

Dear Mr. Guffaw,

Thank you for contacting me about TOPIC. I always appreciate hearing from Arizonans about issues facing our state and country. It is important that we have conversations about topics that are important to you and your family, and I hope you will continue to reach out to me to share your perspectives and suggestions.

Thank you for contacting me about TOPIC?!  Seriously?

Considering this was all electronic, one would think at least the address would be correct?

Maybe I’ll send the next one from YOUR NAME HERE.

It would be fun getting a letter addressed to YOUR NAME HERE, regarding TOPIC!

😛

(apologies to G. Carlin for using his terrific fictional town name Flotsam’s Mistake, in lieu of the real town.)
About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “From The Desk Of YOUR NAME HERE

  1. I was on McCain’s email list for a while after asking for his support on whatever 2A issue was being considered at the time. After “unsubscribing” I was STILL on the list.
    I wasn’t removed until I sent an email saying his vote for >insert here< sucked that they finally got the message. My representative (T. Franks) was pretty good at getting back to me promptly.
    I would love to see the reply from "Your Name Here"! 🙂

    Posted by KM | August 7, 2016, 12:39 pm
  2. Clearly, Cinema needs more taxpayer money to expand her office staff.

    Posted by Steve Parker, M.D. | August 8, 2016, 3:09 am
  3. Hahaha that’s funny. I’d definitely frame that letter for display!

    Posted by chipmunk | August 9, 2016, 9:27 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

