you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', choices, Col. Cooper, common sense, concerns, courts, crime, dangerous, death, errors-in-judgement, foolishness, gun culture, guns, law enforcement interaction, lawbreakers, lawyers, real world, tactics, Tamara, the four rules, training

Warning Shots

As reminded to us by Tamara

See this? Don’t do this?

“We have a lot of people outside our house, yelling and shouting profanities,” he said. “I yelled at them, ‘Please leave the premises.’ They were showing a firearm, so I fired a warning shot and, uh, we got somebody that got hit.”

“Someone was shot?” the operator asked.

“Well, I don’t know if they were shot or not, ma’am,” he told her. “I fired my warning shot like I’m supposed to by law. They do have firearms, and I’m trying to protect myself and my family.”

This dude messed up by the numbers, killed a man, and wrecked his life and his family’s life, in addition to those of his victim and his victim’s family, all because he was stupid and believed a lot of the sort of BS self-defense advice you pick up from well-meaning ignorant morons in gun stores and on the internet.

Folks, self defense with a firearm is no joke. This is life and death stuff right here; it literally does not get more serious than that. With great power comes great accountability.

I think it was Jeff Cooper who said warning shots were tactically unsound.  First, they alerted the bad guys as to your exact location.  Second, they wasted a possibly valuable round of ammunition.  He recommended generally against them, but if one absolutely had to, put one into a solid backstop or an advancing assailant.  THAT should get their attention!
My initial CCW instructor taught us to remember every round sent downrange is a potential million-dollar lawsuit.
REMEMBER those Four Rules (see sidebar)
(Guffaw in AZ does not dispense legal advice.  Find your own lawyer, and get training and liability insurance!)
About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Warning Shots

  1. With the vast SEA of knowledge available from reputable trainers that you can access at mouse click, it’s amazing how someone can be so dense to think a “warning shot” is a good idea. Mind boggling….

    If it’s important enough to pull a trigger…it’s important enough to make that round hit vitals.
    “Important” = “If I don’t stop the threat I will die”

    Posted by KM | August 13, 2016, 9:34 am
  2. SO many things wrong… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | August 13, 2016, 12:24 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

