you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', .357, 9mm, analysis, customer service, FBI, geekery, Glocks, guns, history, law enforcement interaction

Plastic Fantastic?

Rumors abound twixt the Internet regarding the FBI choosing a special Glock 17M as their next duty gun.

unnamed (1)

unnamed (5)

At a glance, we can see that the rumors that the gun will be sporting a magwell appear to be confirmed. There was talk that the Glock mothership in Austria wasn’t too keen on adding a flared magwell for whatever reason. I would love to hear the rationale behind that one. The most interesting thing about the 17M below is that it appears to be a Gen 4. This seems to give the rumor that we will see a Gen 5 around SHOT 2017 more weight. The list below was leaked by an officer attending the Glock 17M/19M training, it appears that he hit the nail on the head.

  • A new tougher finish
  • Changes in the rifling
  • Longer recoil spring assembly
  • Reinforced forward notch for the recoil spring assembly
  • A smoother trigger similar to the G42/43
  • Flared magwell
  • No finger grooved
  • Changes in the safety plunger
  • Ambidextrous slide release
  • Magazines have an extended front lip
  • Magazine well cutout

The caliber aside (going to a 9mm, based on DOD tests), I have an interest.  My first ‘carry gun’ was the FBI issue back in the 80’s – A S&W Model 65 ( aka a stainless 13), bull barrel 3″ .357.  I like gov’t issue model guns.  They have usually been tested, and the belief is they will ‘do the job’.

Of course, this revolver was before the FBI Massacre (1986), after which it was decided semiautomatics were the way to go.

While I still believe plastic has no soul (unlike walnut and steel), I have owned three Glocks (17, 26, and 30) and found them to be adequate machines for the task at hand.

And, as usual, I’ve no funds to acquire ANY new firearms, so, a 17M is just pipe dream…

 

in part from The Firearm Blog

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Plastic Fantastic?

  1. I have no opinion on this one, since I own an all-steel 1911A1, and a S&W “airweight” snubbie, which is titanium, IIRC. No plastic fantastics in my small collection. Older Daughter carries a Ruger LC9, which she swears by. I’ve fired it, just to say I had; it’s okay, but not drool-worthy. I’ll stick with the sidearm that Uncle Sam first supplied, and be happy.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | August 22, 2016, 8:54 am
  2. They function, but you’re right, there is no soul there… sigh (And I have three)

    Posted by Old NFO | August 22, 2016, 12:02 pm
  3. I have and carry Glocks so my opinion is based on what mine do since I haven’t seen the new one in person.
    The changes are a mix of utility and a bunch of fluff. I like my Gen3s and I’m really liking my Gen4s.

    New tougher finish – Go back to the “old” tougher finish??
    “Reinforced forward notch” for RSA – Huh? The “forward notch” is the slide like say…any Sig.
    A “smoother trigger” like G42/43 – They changed the trigger spring config in the 42/43 and not for the better.
    My first change in a 42 was get rid of stock trigger spring. PITA with the new configuraton.
    Mag well – Added for “cool factor”, not a “need”. Double stack mags already have a tapered top.
    No finger grooves – FINALLY a BIG Plus! I’ve ground them off most of my guns.
    Ambi slide release – Meh..my lefty friend uses righty guns fine. He just had to have someone show him a fast way of using the slide release or even easier, slingshot the slide.
    Mag baseplate change – – Wouldn’t need it if they didn’t ask for the un-needed magwell!!

    Glock will sell a bajillion of these to the public when they get caught up with LEO production. I will not be standing in that line…

    Posted by KM | August 22, 2016, 12:06 pm
  4. Of course, this revolver was before the FBI Massacre (1986), after which it was decided semiautomatics were the way to go.

    Some had already gone to semiautos. 3 of the Miami shootout agents were armed with issue S&W Mod 459s.
    That’s how they determined the 115gr Silvertip 9mm had failed to penetrate the extra 1/2″-1″ (depending on source) to reach the BG’s heart.
    We got as a result standardized bullet testing and the 40 S&W.

    Posted by KM | August 22, 2016, 12:20 pm
    • The 459s were SWAT issue. Ben Grogan and Jerry Dove were both SWAT agents, and both were killed. The standard agent’s sidearm at the time was the K-frame Smith. The Bureau issued Model 10s and 13s interchangeably, with 2.5, 3, and 4-inch barrels. (The 2.5-inch was made especially for the FBI; I don’t know if they were ever offered to the public.)
      Since the standard revolver round was the .38 LSWHP in +P, it didn’t really matter if the revolver was a .38 (Model 10) or a .357 (Model 13).

      Posted by Old 1811 | August 22, 2016, 6:09 pm
      • Nice to hear the specifics. I chose a 65 3″, because I had corrosive sweat and it seemed to be the most compact .357 package.
        BUT, trying to get a holster for her was a whole ‘nother issue…

        Posted by guffaw1952 | August 23, 2016, 7:48 am
    • Thanks for the clarifications and history! And now their back to a (new and improved?) 9mm…

      Posted by guffaw1952 | August 23, 2016, 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

