you're reading...
Uncategorized

Not A Gunsmith, Continued…

(a suggested sign over the squad room @ Tom Ezell & Associates – Investigations:  “It’s never as easy as it looks!”)

As recounted in an earlier post, I ordered a spring replacement kit for my S&W 442 electroless nickel snubbie.  And subsequently received same.

I decided to ‘bite the bullet’ and get to it, yesterday.  (I have removed side plates and dealt with Smith revolver innards before.)  Preparatory to this endeavor, I did watch two different videos on You Tube regarding proper disassembly.

Just to refresh my memory.

And I began the task at hand.  Excited at the prospect of getting a snubbie with a lighter trigger pull.

But the gods had other ideas…

Gun unloaded – check.  Remove Pachmayr stocks – check.  Begin unscrewing screws from sideplate…

Not – So – Fast there bucko…

Two of the three screws WOULD NOT BUDGE!  An analysis confirmed two things – yep, they were really in there, and the handle on my cheapie gunsmithing screwdriver was turning instead of the shaft!

It probably didn’t help that I’ve NEVER removed the sideplate on this particular revolver in the 21+ years I’ve owned her!  Sigh.  (I know, my bad).

What to do – What to do?

Dig through mountains of storage boxes to locate my other (better?) gunsmithing screwdriver (with a bad back – me, not the screwdriver), or order another online (at additional cost)?

Looking for suggestions to loosen the screws?  Penetrating oil?  WD-40?

I’m now pretty comfortable with doing the spring replacement.  If I could only get the &%$#$^Y&! sideplate off!

Sigh.

Glad I’m not in a rush…

not as complicated as pictured

not as complicated as pictured

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Not A Gunsmith, Continued…

  1. I’d suggest Kroil, but it’s expensive, especially for one time use when the smallest size available will last several lifetimes ( you do NOT want to use it as gun oil- it WILL creep into the primers in your ammo and make them inert ) S&W did take to using a bit of thread locking compound on the screws. A solvent may work, too.

    Posted by thinkingman | August 27, 2016, 8:26 am
  2. I stripped down a family members S&W a while back to clean/lube the interior parts.
    No drama…clean, lube, re-assemble. Never occured to me that screws with that small of a head would not budge. I haven’t seen that trick!
    Good luck.

    Posted by KM | August 27, 2016, 12:26 pm
  3. Second the Kroil. Just make damn sure you clean it up! 🙂

    Posted by Old NFO | August 27, 2016, 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

