you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, analysis, answers, basic, being human, Blog Mothers, choices, enthusiasm, geekery, Glocks, gun culture, minimalist, Tamara

Victorian Glock?

The brilliant and beautiful Tamara (one of my ubiquitous Blogmothers ™) has regaled us almost daily with her ‘torture’ tests of various models of Glock pistol and kinds of ammunition.  As well as her opinion regarding gunsmithing modification and after-market parts.

Complete with specific counts regarding misfeeds, faulty ignition, ejection and the like.

And for this (and many other tidbits) we are forever grateful!  🙂

But, it got me to thinking (I know, a dangerous concept…)

Back-in-the-day, when I purchased MY Glocks (models 19,30,26, which sadly, I no longer have.), my intent was to acquire a machine that was sufficient for the task at hand out of the box.  The ONLY modifications I made were installation of tritium night sights (if they didn’t come pre-installed), because that seemed appropriate for a handgun chosen primarily for self-defense.

And the school of thought at the time was something akin to ‘well, you can’t replace the stocks, the sights are okay (now that they glow-in-the-dark)’.  What could I do further?  Perhaps have a NY trigger installed?’  There was not a lot of tweaking even available.

This definitely NOT your great grandfather’s service pistol, the venerable 1911, designed 80 years earlier with 51 (or 53) parts (versus the Glock’s 32).  A precision Victorian pocket watch versus a digital.

But, my friends, it does appear we have turned the corner.  There are now numerous after-market parts for the Glock, and even modification including grinding-upon and remolding the frame!

Seems we just cannot leave well enough alone!

glock mods

Perhaps tinkering is just part of being human?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Victorian Glock?

  1. I mod my Glocks.
    First of course is the sights. (I loathe the factory sights) Smooth faced triggers for those that don’t come with them, polish the internals, Vickers mag catch, factory ext slide catch, ” – ” connector, grip plug, Grip Force beavertail. I will grind off the finger bumps depending on the model then add a Hogue grip sleeve to put them where my fingers actually fit.
    I play with springs on range guns but keep a close eye on them…a Ghost striker spring only lasted about 500 rds before giving me light strikes.
    I can do those mods on my dining table in about 10 minutes. If I don’t like one, I can change it back in 2 minutes. No fitting or gunsmith needed.

    Being retired I DO have a max $ amount I’m willing to part with. I won’t buy a Zooty trigger/trigger bar or pay for extensive/expensive frame mods because they won’t be GSSF legal.
    If anyone owns a Glock and doesn’t shoot GSSF, they are missing out big time. Win a gun with a $35 annual membership and a $25 match entry! I’ve won 2.

    Posted by KM | September 17, 2016, 9:18 am
  2. Glocks have now reached ‘maturity’ if you will, with the add ons, mods, etc… My 1988 Glock is stock except for sights. I’ve replaced the recoil spring, and trigger group with smoothed ones to get to 5.2 lbs.

    Posted by Old NFO | September 17, 2016, 11:13 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

