you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', annoyance, childhood, death, family, history, honor, memories, monumental-waste-of-time, neuroses, tradition

Which Is The Correct Direction?

For some reason, my elders saw fit to pass trinkets from their lives onto me.  Some, I understand, like my Dad passing his Dad’s NY, NH & H railroad police badge to me.  🙂

And my Dad, his railroad pocket watch (complete with fob and Grand Central Station locker key)!

But others aren’t so straight forward.

My maternal grandfather (Gramp), took me aside one day and gave me a compass.  He didn’t explain where he acquired it, or who it was from.  Gramp passed in 1977 with this information.

I still have the police badge.  I gifted the pocket watch to my long-time friend Jim, as he has always been obsessed with trains, on his 50th birthday.  (He and my Father talked about trains for hours, when I wasn’t all that interested.)

I still have the compass.  Compasses of the same manufacture can be found on Ebay for $55.00.  Of course, they don’t have the personalization on the inside of the cover!

20160421_10521620160421_105153

 

 

 

 

 

The inscriptions read as though they might be of military origin, including a 1917 date.  The Great War?  I’ve no way of knowing.  Internet searches of the initials and dates haven’t provided any further information.

As it is with so many things originating with my family, like what happened to my twin brother, I guess the answers are lost forever.

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Which Is The Correct Direction?

  1. That looks like an issue Engineer’s Compass. Can’t be sure without seeing more pics.

    Posted by Old NFO | September 24, 2016, 10:48 am
  2. Like you, I received a (very) few trinkets from my dad: his dad’s old Elgin pocket watch, a mustache cup, and not much else. That watch should prove interesting, if you can make sense of the inscription. Of course we’ll expect an AAR, if you do.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | September 24, 2016, 12:48 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

