you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, annoyance, choices, college, crime, dangerous, Fear, history, politically incorrect, protest, remembering, safety, yutes

Escaping A Riot

Peter (Bayou Renaissance Man) provided us with a well-thought-out tome regarding the recent (and ongoing) unpleasantness, and what happens if you happen to encounter such activity while driving.

The short version – DON’T BE THERE, KEEP MOVING!

Escaping a riot, redux (link)

Reading about these recent events took me back to my youth.  No, I wasn’t protesting anything.  I was simply trying to drive home.

(an aside – This was before I was an armed individual)

I had spent a pleasant evening with David Mitchell (another Dave-HA!) and was returning across the Tempe bridge when I came upon perhaps 200 people marching (well, walking together) across the bridge.

Against the flow of traffic, and my vehicle!

Not only did I not know WHY they were taking this action.  I DIDN’T CARE!  I simply wanted to return home to get ready for work (I was working graveyard shift at the time.)

But, here they were.  All these folks.  Impeding my progress – as well as the other vehicles headed in my direction.  As this was a small college town, I even recognized some of the protestors (leftists, the usual suspects!)

Were they violent?  (My car doors were locked, of course, as is my custom)  My windows were up, also.

I waded into the crowd in my car, and kept movingSlowly.

They banged with open palms on my windows and doors.  And I kept moving.  Later, I remembered my radio antenna.  It remained unmolested.

Upon my return home, I determined the reason for the ‘march’ was a protest against Nixon’s invasion of Cambodia (at the height of the Vietnam War).  While I may or may not have agreed with the protestors, I still had a job to go to.

I changed into my security guard uniform and went to work.

I think I was lucky.  And was glad I kept moving.

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Escaping A Riot

  1. I’m glad you made it home safely, back then. If you tried that today, they’d smash your windows, drag you out & beat you, and set the car on fire.

    You know it’s bad when you have to look back fondly at the riots & protests of the ’60s as “the good old days.”

    Posted by Rev. Paul | September 26, 2016, 8:47 am
  2. These aren’t quite as ‘friendly’ as those were…

    Posted by Old NFO | September 26, 2016, 12:07 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

