you're reading...
American, business, capitalism, celebrate, choices, concerns, customer service, free enterprise, gear, gun culture, guns, hunting, labor, themes

I’m Getting All Warm And Fuzzy!

try-not-to-feel-all-warm-and-fuzzy-inside-when-you_21from Wirecutter:

Bass Pro and Cabella’s combine

OMAHA, NEB. — Outdoor gear giants Bass Pro and Cabela’s will combine in a $4.5 billion deal announced Monday.

Bass Pro is paying Cabela’s shareholders $65.50 cash per share. The deal creates uncertainty about jobs in Cabela’s home state of Nebraska. The combined companies plan to keep some operations in Sidney and Lincoln, Nebraska, but it’s not immediately clear how many jobs might be lost.

Bass Pro CEO Johnny Morris says he hopes to continue growing the Cabela’s brand alongside his own Springfield, Missouri, based chain.

Capital One will take over running Cabela’s credit card unit as part of the deal. Activist investment firm Elliott Management began pushing for significant changes at Cabela’s last fall. Cabela’s employs about 2,000 people in the western Nebraska town of Sidney, which has about 7,000 residents.
SOURCE

Yeah, I don’t know about this merger’s effect on jobs, but there is a Cabela’s 40+ miles NW of me, and a Bass Pro maybe 7 miles NE of me.  If they both remain open, I vote to go to the NE location.  🙂

NOW, If I just had money…

(PS – word on the ‘Net is they are differently themed stores, and undoubtedly something will be lost in this merger.  As I’m pretty much a window-shopper only, it has little effect on me.  And I remember my first (and only) visit to Cabela’s.  And the handgun display proclaiming a model by LES BAUER! (it should have been Les Baer)  Not everyone is perfect.)

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “I’m Getting All Warm And Fuzzy!

  1. I bought a LOT of stuff at Cabela’s. Bass Pro, not so much…same geography equation as you but reversed. 🙂

    They could pretty much change the whole store and if they left the gun and reloading section as is, I wouldn’t notice the change for 2 years.

    Posted by KM | October 10, 2016, 8:57 am
  2. The nearest Cabela’s to me is almost an 8 hour drive each way, but I started buying from their catalogs before the Internet and still do. BassPro is more of a Southeast chain, and we finally got a smaller store in town about 2 years ago. Between the two of them, that’s probably 80% of my wardrobe.

    I got to visit a Cabela’s store once, in Lehi, Utah, while out in SLC for work. It was fantastic. The kind of place where you could walk in and sign over your paycheck every payday. Too much temptation.

    Posted by SiGraybeard | October 10, 2016, 2:13 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

